Rocky Road Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I made this for the Halloween party this year and everyone loved them. They thought they were beautiful too. I used a caramel wrap which when brought out of the oven, was not sticky enough to roll ingredients in, so I had to strategically place every marshmallow and nut. It took forever! I also did not drizzle on the chocolate. I placed each chip on the apple. I also added a worm I made with some candy, I placed in a hole I poked in the apple, for a spooky-gross effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hummingbird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
We made these with some friends for halloween and all the adults immediately returned to the carefree days of childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I tried the caramel that JLeigh suggested, it was wonderful, coated the apples evenly and easy to make. I suggest using that if you want them to look and taste perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Loftis Rollins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is a great recipe. One thing to remember: Apples may have a waxy coating on them that keeps the caramel from sticking very well. Rolling your apples in boiling water very quickly will melt that waxy residue and the caramel sticks to the apple! How bout that? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Good, but I had problems with the caramel and toppings sliding off the apples, too. I found this tip on the internet that says to melt the caramel in a 4 cup glass measuring cup in the microwave, then let it cool to about 170 degrees. Place a folded dish towel in a skillet and place the glass measuring cup on top of the towel, place the skillet on a burner set on low. This keeps it at the correct temperature while dipping. Dip an apple, turn in upside down for a few seconds to help set the caramel. Immediately roll it in the toppings. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Great! I made these for my daughter's preschool Halloween party and they LOVED them! The other mom's were teasing me that I must be Martha Stewart because they looked so good. I think that chilling the apples first and working quickly with caramel was very important. I also threw each apple into the fridge as soon as I had applied the toppings. I will definetly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I had the same problem as everyone else. The caramel slid to the bottom of the apples. Yes, they were still good, but not able to give them away cause they looked awful. Next time will try the other caramel recipes that others have posted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I made these a couple of times, and had the same problem with the caramel sliding down to the bottom of the apple. The taste was good, but they looked awful. I wondered if it had something to do with the caramel, so I did a search and found this recipe for homemade caramel: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Chewy-Caramel/Detail.aspx Sure enough, the caramel stayed on fine -no sliding off the apple. The caramel is also unbelievably delicious! My family has not stopped talking about them, and my younger sister keeps asking me to make them again (I've made them 2x now). It's so easy I'm happy to oblige! In terms of time, it doesn't take any longer to make homemade caramel than it does using individually wrapped caramels. I originally made a double recipe, and it must have taken me a good 20 minutes just to unwrap all those caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Excellent! I dipped the apples in caramel and drizzled with the melted chocolate. I skipped the "rocky road" part. The kids loved them. They sold out at the bake sale in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I had to make some changes to get the toppings to stay put. I referred to the caramel apple recipe submitted by Suzie. First, use chilled apples. Then melt your caramels with 2 tbsp. milk in the microwave for 2 minutes, stirring halfway through. I let my melted caramels sit for about a minute before dipping the apples. The toppings stayed perfectly in place. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrysNBoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Nutty Caramel Apple Pops

Delicious mini caramel apples dipped in chopped nuts.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States