Rocky Road Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kayla
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was amazing , although I did not fold in marshmallows I layered them with the icing as I poured it over created a much nicer look. This was a delicious dessert and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I actually made it as written for my daughters birthday. We all loved it but it is very rich. Next time I make this I plan on stirring some marshmallows into the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made this cake on the weekend. Very dense I made it in 2 9in pans but next time I will buy the marshmallows as this was a long process and they did not set well perhaps because it was a wet day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This topping was grainy. I doubled recipe and found it needs at lease 40-45 minutes cook time. I did not like marshmallows on top. Would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I made the cake exactly as directed and thought it was very good. Super easy and fast! I did add chopped walnuts as topping, which I thought added to the Rocky Road flavor and gave it a good change in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
WOW!! Absolutely amazing. I made a few changes though because I was out of cocoa - I melted 3 squares of unsweetened chocolate then only used 2 tbsp of oil instead of 5 and made cupcakes. Very chocolately and moist. I then made a marshmallow creme frosting, piped it in the center and on top of the cupcake. Definitely going to keep this recipe, very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geckofur

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My recipe calls it "Crazy Cake". It is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musicmomto4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
MAKE THIS CAKE! It was VERY easy, and the glaze/frosting was simple and came out delicious as well, though sweet, which IMHO, is a good thing. Best cake of this type I've had in a long time. Okay, so I confess I didn't sift anything. I did use a whisk to try and blend the dry ingredients, but I'm no pastry chef, so maybe that is supposed to do something, but the cake was amazing anyway. I plan to use the glaze on other cakes. It set up pretty quickly, and would work on many other cakes. I also think I may double the cake recipe but not the glaze next time, and bake in a 9x13 pan. I think I may also try without the marshmallows. DISCLAIMER: I do not, as a general rule, like chocolate cake. That being said, this one was absolutely delicious! Thanks for the recipe LEESON71!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherryLime

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Loved, loved, loved the cake but made more of a whipped icing the second time as I found this a bit too heavy for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
The cake came out well-it baked up nicely and had a nice dark chocolatey taste. The icing however, was too sweet for the cake and adding it kind of ruined the cake eating experience for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Frankie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States