Rocky Mountain Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Fantastic!!!! Everyone loved this stew. I`ll use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
This was the best stew I have ever made. Often, recipes I see have onion soup mix for flavor, but not this one. Nice thick brown gravy, hearty stew for the winter. I will be using this recipe going forward. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pascoag, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
This was a nice, overall tasty stew recipe. I didn't have any pearl onions - so I subbed reg onions, and I omitted the peas. Also, I added two more bay leaves & a dash of crushed rosemary and like another, ended up having to thicken it even more w/ some additional cornstarch (I used cornstarch instead of flour). A "nice" fall dinner - great with a loaf of crusty bread. Thanks Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
To make the stew thicker, toss your meat with the flour BEFORE you brown the meat (I used 1/2 cup). Make sure your oil is hot (flour will bubble away when you sprinkle a little in it) before adding meat. I also added diced onions during this step instead of the pearl onions later. After the floured meat is browned, I then added water and followed the recipe as written. The stew was the perfect color and consistancy when made this way. As far as taste, it was great all except for the peas. They were a little overwhelming in flavor. I think it may have been better to have them cook a little longer so the flavors would mingle better. Or maybe use canned peas which don't have quite as intense of a flavor as the frozen variety I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
This was good, I also put it in the crockpot & skipped the oil. It took a bit more flour & some cornstarch to thicken the gravy, but it was good. Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
My family loved this recipe. It tastes very similar to a famous brand of canned stew, but improved because it isn't as greasy. I made a few changes: just dumped the ingredients in a crockpot and cooked it all day, omitted the oil, flour and peas. It came out thick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
This is the best stew I have ever had! The gravy is delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is a very nice basic stew recipe. Easy to prepare and very tasty going down. I modified it a bit. I confess that one of my pet peeves is people who modify recipes beyond recogniition. But I believe in being flexible too, so, here are my modifications: First, I browned the beef with olive oil and added a little salt and white pepper to the beef while browning. I didn't dredge the beef in flour prior to browning because that would interfere with caramelizing the sugars in the beef. Second, the can of pearl onions did not sound appetizing to me, so I picked some pearl onions out of my garden and added them to the beef while browning it to caramelize them, bring out their flavor, and add to the flavor and texture of the gravy. Third, I added two beef bullion cubes to the 3 cups of water and cut back on the salt. I also used sea salt. Fourth, I cut the potatoes and carrots a little smaller to suit my taste. Fifth, I added just a lttle fresh rosemary and thyme out of my garden to it to add a little more wild flavor. Sixth, I added the peas about 5 minutes before thickening the gravy. It was delicious, and the leftovers held up well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
loved it...turned out perfect and smelled so yummy cooking. An extra bonus all three of my kids liked it which is unusual. I used fresh onions as well instead of pearl onions. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Great Stew!! Added frozen peas and green beans, and cut back on the worcestire sauce. have made a few ti.es in the past month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States