Rocky Mountain Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
This is the best stew I have ever had! The gravy is delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
This stew was so hearty and flavorful. I especially liked the crispness of the peas and the way the meat just feel apart and enriched the stew. It is perfect for autumn evenings. I served it with Pumpkin bread. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by St.Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
This was the best stew I have ever made. Often, recipes I see have onion soup mix for flavor, but not this one. Nice thick brown gravy, hearty stew for the winter. I will be using this recipe going forward. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pascoag, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I think this recipe would be better if the fat and oil is drained after browning the beef instead of using it for gravy. The beef fat and oil sort of add a musky taste to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
All the hungry guys in my house LOVED this recipe. It helps to cook this the amount of time specified. Serving sweet dinner rolls with this to dip in the gravy is the crowning touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDY442

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williamston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
My family loved this recipe. It tastes very similar to a famous brand of canned stew, but improved because it isn't as greasy. I made a few changes: just dumped the ingredients in a crockpot and cooked it all day, omitted the oil, flour and peas. It came out thick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
This was good, I also put it in the crockpot & skipped the oil. It took a bit more flour & some cornstarch to thicken the gravy, but it was good. Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
My whole family thought this recipe was fantastic. My husband had been searching for a stew recipe that was "like his mom used to make", and we've found it. In fact, the meat is so tender that it's even better than hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Better than most. I omitted the sugar and added extra Worcestershire sauce and potatoes. I aslo added corn and Kitchen Bouquet. I'll use this one again but next time I will use chopped fresh onions rather than the canned tiny onions since I didn't care for their texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
This was absolutely delicious. I did make a couple changes: I didn't have any peas so I left those out, and I used a regular onion instead of the pearl onions. I also had no Worcestershire sauce so I used a popular name-brand steak sauce. All in all, we very much enjoyed it and I will be making it (my way) again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States