Rocky Mountain Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Island Pond, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
This was a nice, overall tasty stew recipe. I didn't have any pearl onions - so I subbed reg onions, and I omitted the peas. Also, I added two more bay leaves & a dash of crushed rosemary and like another, ended up having to thicken it even more w/ some additional cornstarch (I used cornstarch instead of flour). A "nice" fall dinner - great with a loaf of crusty bread. Thanks Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This recipe ROCKS!! Not only is delicious but it's really easy and preparation is a snap. I will be making this a lot on those cold fall and winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
This was absolutely delicious. I did make a couple changes: I didn't have any peas so I left those out, and I used a regular onion instead of the pearl onions. I also had no Worcestershire sauce so I used a popular name-brand steak sauce. All in all, we very much enjoyed it and I will be making it (my way) again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Better than most. I omitted the sugar and added extra Worcestershire sauce and potatoes. I aslo added corn and Kitchen Bouquet. I'll use this one again but next time I will use chopped fresh onions rather than the canned tiny onions since I didn't care for their texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
My whole family thought this recipe was fantastic. My husband had been searching for a stew recipe that was "like his mom used to make", and we've found it. In fact, the meat is so tender that it's even better than hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
This was good, I also put it in the crockpot & skipped the oil. It took a bit more flour & some cornstarch to thicken the gravy, but it was good. Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
My family loved this recipe. It tastes very similar to a famous brand of canned stew, but improved because it isn't as greasy. I made a few changes: just dumped the ingredients in a crockpot and cooked it all day, omitted the oil, flour and peas. It came out thick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
All the hungry guys in my house LOVED this recipe. It helps to cook this the amount of time specified. Serving sweet dinner rolls with this to dip in the gravy is the crowning touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDY442

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williamston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I think this recipe would be better if the fat and oil is drained after browning the beef instead of using it for gravy. The beef fat and oil sort of add a musky taste to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States