Rocky Mountain Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I thought it turned out ok, although, it's still in the fridge and no one will eat it. I encountered a problem during the cooking process. While the stew was simmering for 2.5 hours, most of the liquids evaporated. So, I had to add another 2 cups of water to cook the potatoes and carrots. I still didn't feel like there was enough liquid to cook 4 potatoes as the recipes called so I only added half. Taste wise, I thought it tasted like Dinty Moore. And I am not a fan. If I were to make it again, I'd add wine to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I had been looking and looking and then this came along. Oh it's so good. I do add a little kitchen bouquet, because I prefer the look. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
We really liked this stew. It is really hearty and great for the fall and winter. It's perfect with some hot fresh french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
loved it...turned out perfect and smelled so yummy cooking. An extra bonus all three of my kids liked it which is unusual. I used fresh onions as well instead of pearl onions. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Loved it... I carmelized fresh onions in the oil at the beginning instead of using canned onions. I also threw in some baby carrots. I couldn't keep my spoon out of the pot all afternoon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
This was exactly what I was looking for when I decided to make stew! Thank you! I didn't have some ingredients, like lemon juice, peas, or the canned onions. So, I just left them out and used a fresh onion instead. It turned out so yummy. This will be a favorite for years, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This was really good, and worth the wait. I used corn instead of peas (don't like peas), and cut up one onion instead of doing the can of onions. I also left out the bay leaf. To make it a bit thicker, I used 1/3 cup flour instead of 1/4. My one complaint is that it took much longer than 20 minutes for the potatoes and carrots to become tender, but the end result of the stew was tasty enough to where it didn't matter so much. This is just like the stews everyone's mother, grandmother, etc. make on chilly days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I was looking for something to do with sirloin tips when I found this recipe. I made the recipe as written, reducing by half for our small family. I had some leftover peas that I added at the last minute. Sounded kind of odd to add peas, but it really was a nice addition. Reminded me of Dinty Moore stew - but fresh! Somehow I didn't have as much gravy as I thought it should. Maybe next time I will add a bit more water... This one was a hit, even with my husband who declared he does not like stew! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Great Stew!! Added frozen peas and green beans, and cut back on the worcestire sauce. have made a few ti.es in the past month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2003
I have been looking for a beef stew recipe that was like my dad's well the way he made it. this is just like me made it thank you. i also found that if you add some gravy master it will darken it to the way you like it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States