Rock's T-Bone Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
With a few adjustments, this recipe is great. It really adds a nice flavour to steak. As others suggested, I reduced the salt, by more than half. We found it a bit spicy, so next time we'll cut the cayenne in half also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very impressed but like every one here mentioned, need to cut down on the salt. I followed all the instructions minus the salt. I added the salt directly on the steaks. I have cooked awesome steaks with garlic and butter and this receipt is hard to beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlos Trevino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Fantastic! Great rub, complex. People seem to object to different spices used here; that's one nice thing about a homemade mixture, is you can leave out or adjust the amounts of ANYTHING to personal taste. I only used 1/3 as much cayenne as called for and it was still a little spicy for my boys. I used the full amount of salt, but it was large-grain. I agree with others that was a little too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
For us, the cayenne overwhelmed the basic steak goodness of our very expensive T-bone and the salt is way off. I used the recipe amounts for all the spices but half ("to taste")the salt, which was good saltiness for us. Overlooking the excess heat, this was pleasantly savory. I will try again, using 1/4 the amount of cayenne and think it might be to our liking with those adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I tried this last night and my husband and son loved it!! Thanks We did cut the salt by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This a great way to season your steaks. I did not use the amount of salt called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Very tasty, but I add 1 T brown sugar as well. I use this recipe everytime I make steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Photo by chipandale
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
All I can at is yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I wanted to try a 'dry rub'. This was excellent! I used smoked paprika and half the salt like some suggested, rubbing it on just before pan frying my T-bone. Yum! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llgrotts
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is a recipe to make your own way... glad I only put in half the salt. I subbed cumin for turmeric because I didn't have any. I used my judgement as to how much of the rub I wanted to put on the meat. Even though the salt level in this had to be adjusted so much, I won't give this any less than 5 stars. This will be a repeated blend in our house. I'm sure hamburgers would benefit with it sprinkled on as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States