Rock's T-Bone Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
With a few adjustments, this recipe is great. It really adds a nice flavour to steak. As others suggested, I reduced the salt, by more than half. We found it a bit spicy, so next time we'll cut the cayenne in half also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very impressed but like every one here mentioned, need to cut down on the salt. I followed all the instructions minus the salt. I added the salt directly on the steaks. I have cooked awesome steaks with garlic and butter and this receipt is hard to beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlos Trevino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Fantastic! Great rub, complex. People seem to object to different spices used here; that's one nice thing about a homemade mixture, is you can leave out or adjust the amounts of ANYTHING to personal taste. I only used 1/3 as much cayenne as called for and it was still a little spicy for my boys. I used the full amount of salt, but it was large-grain. I agree with others that was a little too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
For us, the cayenne overwhelmed the basic steak goodness of our very expensive T-bone and the salt is way off. I used the recipe amounts for all the spices but half ("to taste")the salt, which was good saltiness for us. Overlooking the excess heat, this was pleasantly savory. I will try again, using 1/4 the amount of cayenne and think it might be to our liking with those adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I tried this last night and my husband and son loved it!! Thanks We did cut the salt by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This a great way to season your steaks. I did not use the amount of salt called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Very tasty, but I add 1 T brown sugar as well. I use this recipe everytime I make steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Photo by chipandale
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
All I can at is yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I wanted to try a 'dry rub'. This was excellent! I used smoked paprika and half the salt like some suggested, rubbing it on just before pan frying my T-bone. Yum! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llgrotts
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is a recipe to make your own way... glad I only put in half the salt. I subbed cumin for turmeric because I didn't have any. I used my judgement as to how much of the rub I wanted to put on the meat. Even though the salt level in this had to be adjusted so much, I won't give this any less than 5 stars. This will be a repeated blend in our house. I'm sure hamburgers would benefit with it sprinkled on as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States