Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I loved this recipe with slight variations...I agree that cooking the veggies for 3 hours is too long. An hour or so is plenty. I added 2 chunks of fresh pineapple for a fruity undertone and slight sweetness, instead of all the sugar. I also added some of the brown sugar, a few tablespoons and a tablespoons of home made maple syrup. It is a nice subtle taste. I also added smoked paprika and some different peppers, but kept the tomatoes the same and I also added fresh sweet corn! I reduced the garlic, since I dislike a garlic aftertaste that lasts overnight. I used fresh, though, not powder. I substituted lime juice for the vinegar and this , combined with the pineapple gave my salsa a very citrus undertone that is nice with a southwest flair. The smoked paprika and roasted peppers added a chipotle component to the salsa. It is a fun recipe to make and to add your own favorite flavors and textures. It allows you to customize your salsa to your own and your family's tastes. A bit sweet with some texture and some smoky goodness is how we like our salsa. All in all a great starter recipe and one I have used twice now. I will use it again next summer. It is a great way to use your garden surplus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet Thompkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
The best that I have made, I even put some corn and black beans in one batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I canned a large batch of this mostly following the recipe. In the middle of December in Ohio, I popped open a jar and it tasted just as good as the day I canned it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this, but reduced the amounts of each ingredient because I only wanted enough for my boyfriend and I. It was really good. :) To me, it tastes a lot like the salsa at La Carreta. I didn't have bell peppers or red onion on hand, so I left those out. My boyfriend also requested that it be a little hotter after he taste-tested the salsa I had made, so I added more banana pepper and cayenne, and I also threw in a little white pepper and some tabasco. I really liked it, and I am not a salsa eater. My boyfriend wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Halley Jarrett

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
First to make this salas and it's the best. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alycia Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Very good. I used double the cumin, no cayenne, six jalapeños, one bell pepper and only two table spoons of brown sugar, no white sugar. Marc would prefer no sugar and chunkier. I boiled for three full hours. I did not have tomato paste so I used some homemade tomato sauce. Overall, this is a hit. Worth making again whe the garden puts out lots of tomatoes and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I made this last year and canned them in pint size jars. I gave a few of them out to my friends and I was told it was the best salsa they had ever had. Time to make more for the upcoming winter. thanks for a great recipe Tami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
process time should be 20 minutes from 1000 ft to 6000 ft elevation and 25 minutes above 6000 ft elevation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time ever making salsa. My family loved it so much, I have to make more this weekend! Great recipe, I will never buy store brand salsa again. This was so easy. This time I'm adding jalopenos instead of cayenne powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This salsa was disappointing. 1. no cilantro, 2. no jalepeno peppers, and 3. tomato paste. but gave it a shot. I used a red and white onion and raw sugar only, nixed the banana peppers, sauteed the onions and green pepper in a pan, added the tomatoes, paste and spices, and voila! It tasted like tomato sauce. I even added cilantro to try and make it taste more like salsa... but it didn't help. Oh well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States