Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This recipe was great. Wife and kids loved it. The only changes that I made was not putting any sugar or brown sugar and I put 8 tablespoons of the cayenne peppers because we like it spicy. I like the fact that you have canning directions too. I have never canned before and it was simple to do following your directions. Thank you for sharing that fantastic recipe for others to try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Best recipe I have found period! I can this and hand out to a select few friends and they have become addicted. The key is the long cook with a perfect blend of ingredients. Addicted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
very good, only put in half the sugar and i really regret it, I don't like even a hint of sweet in my salsa....next time NO SUGAR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I am not a salsa dip person, mainly cause I don't like spicy food, I didn't use the cayenne pepper, and half what it called for of the banana peppers, and it's perfect, just to my liking. My boys love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is an awesome salsa. It is a sweet salsa recipe. 3 pints were eaten within 2 days by my family it is so good. If you dip your veggies in this you will eat them and not miss chips. It is also a thick salsa however I squeezed, seeded and drained my tomatoes. Used Roma in 3 batches and regular round ones in second 3 batches. The round ones needed a lot of squeezing and did not yield as much do to being a more watery tomato. Both types of tomatoes made a good salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I made this exactly as directed and I think it's the best salsa ever. No more store bought for this family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I would definately use less tomato paste, but other than that it was sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelso!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I loved this recipe with slight variations...I agree that cooking the veggies for 3 hours is too long. An hour or so is plenty. I added 2 chunks of fresh pineapple for a fruity undertone and slight sweetness, instead of all the sugar. I also added some of the brown sugar, a few tablespoons and a tablespoons of home made maple syrup. It is a nice subtle taste. I also added smoked paprika and some different peppers, but kept the tomatoes the same and I also added fresh sweet corn! I reduced the garlic, since I dislike a garlic aftertaste that lasts overnight. I used fresh, though, not powder. I substituted lime juice for the vinegar and this , combined with the pineapple gave my salsa a very citrus undertone that is nice with a southwest flair. The smoked paprika and roasted peppers added a chipotle component to the salsa. It is a fun recipe to make and to add your own favorite flavors and textures. It allows you to customize your salsa to your own and your family's tastes. A bit sweet with some texture and some smoky goodness is how we like our salsa. All in all a great starter recipe and one I have used twice now. I will use it again next summer. It is a great way to use your garden surplus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet Thompkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
The best that I have made, I even put some corn and black beans in one batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I canned a large batch of this mostly following the recipe. In the middle of December in Ohio, I popped open a jar and it tasted just as good as the day I canned it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States