Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was my first experience with the hot water bath process and I found these instructions to be easy to follow. The ingredients in this recipe are versatile enough to change up. I don't care for bell peppers so I used 6 banana peppers and one jalapeno. We like our salsa sweet, so I kept the sugar as stated in the recipe. There wasn't quite enough to get a full 8 pints, so we kept out the last bit (almost a pint). Wanted to try it right away anyway - it was gone in 15 minutes! We love it! Probably won't change anything the next time I make it, which will be soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mispirit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This salsa is the best I have made. I did change the recipe a little. I took out the white sugar as it was just to sweet for my taste, and instead of the cheyenne I used fresh hot peppers to the heat I wanted. Either way you do it, it is very good. Make more than you think you will need, cause it will go fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Ok here is my only warning, I changed a few things and after 6 batches here is my current, onions same, tomatoes same, I have used sweet peppers and banana same amount little difference, 1 8 oz can paste, 2T apple cider vinegar, adds sweet to allow for less sugar, and it also keeps levels ok for canning, 5 cloves chopped garlic, salt same, sub red crushed pepper for cayenne, 1/2t cumin, 3T brown sugar, 2T white, now the big changer is yellow bell peppers they are sweeter and to me less dirty tasting,(all peppers =around 2 1/2 cups) and 1 T lemon juice. I add jalapeno peppers 2 omit the seeds for milder, buy pickled for milder yet. We also like 1t cilantro. Here is the thing I have found.... The type of tomato changes the salsa more than anything. I made my 1st batch with sweeter tomatoes (I exclude some sugar 1T of each I think is what I used with sweeter tomatoes), and my last with late season seconds they are from one end of the spectrum of sweet to the other overly tomato tasting... Keep this in mind. Also there is no need to cook for 3 hours, I cook anywhere from 20 min to 1 hour based on what I am doing (2 little children distract me) remember your hot bath cooks this too. And if you grind with a hand held mixer there is no need to simmer flavor away. The longer it cooks the more it changes taste to me. As a previous person commented it only takes a hot bath 10 min to process, but some stoves it takes 20 to 45 min to get to a good boil, so remember this also!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by osubuckeyesrock1
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This recipe is PERFECT as is!! A little sweet and a little spice. When I try recipe, I like to try it the way the recipe is written. If I don't like it, then I make changes. I don't like when people change 2, 3, 4 and so on of the ingredients and then rate it bad when they altered the recipe. I don't think thats fair to the creator either. I'm going to make a couple more batch AS IS and a couple of batches, but add corn and black beans. Thank You for sharing this AWESOME recipe. It will for sure be the go to salsa recipe in our house. Once you eat this, you will never want to buy store bought salsa again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osubuckeyesrock1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Mine tasted like spicy spaghetti sauce. I don't know what I did wrong. I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
great taste. sweet and spicy. i am considering adding a little smoke flavoring in the next batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I substituted cayenne for fresh jalapenos, about 6 seeded, and added cilantro. I only added 1T of the sugars too. I needed to do something with all my garden tomatoes. This was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is pretty good. I did make some changes though... I used 2 red onions & 1 white onion and I omitted the banana peppers and the tomato paste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay City, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This has Way too much sugar!! Next time I will leave out the brown sugar and only put in 1/4 cup of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is the best ever salsa recipe! I first made this with my in-laws (we had never made salsa before). We were blown away with how great it turned out. I now make double batches any chance I get. I give out jars to friends and family, who keep asking me for more. Several people have asked me for this recipe, and friends of friends are even requesting it. It's quite the talk of the town! The changes I make are eliminating the banana peppers, and possibly adding one jalapeno for a little kick. I also use a food processor to chop the onions and peppers up (this saves a lot of time/headache). I also add a bunch of cilantro about 30 min before it's done cooking. I have also cooked this in a large crock pot with the lid sideways. It works fine, but takes about double the cooking time. I really wish I could give this recipe more than five stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States