Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Great flavor and will definitely make again. I would describe this as a "cooking salsa " that I would use in a receipe. For chips and salsa I would prefer something with more heat !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaddyB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clayton, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
i didn't care for this salsa at all. It had way to much of a tomato taste that it really hid a salsa flavor. It also have a pretty strong kick which I didn't want. I like my salsa a little more mild. Over all though I wouldn't have minded the spice if it would have had more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I am editing my review to include all the things I changed. I use 8 cups of tomatoes, 3 cups of onion and 2 1/2 c peppers. I usually use one Hungarian wax pepper, one half off a serrano and one smaller jalapeno chopped fine and the rest bell peppers. I use 1/4 cup white or cider vinegar and 1/4 cup plus 3 tablespoons lime juice, and add finely chopped garlic, like another review suggested. I use about one tablespoon cumin, 1-2 teaspoons of ancho chili, 1 heaping teaspoon Mexican oregano and cut the cayenne pepper down to 1 teaspoon and add a teaspoon of chipotle pepper. With the hot peppers you don't need as much cayenne and the mix of hot peppers give a good flavor without being overly hot. I also add just under 1/4 cup of white sugar and omit the brown sugar altogether. I only use one can of paste and cook about 1 hour or so. Three hours is way to long. You want the salsa to have a thicker, not watery consistency but still have the integrity of the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dalton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I've been making this for a couple of years now, and I love it! I do tweak the ingredients and quantities a bit based on what I have available. I grow jalapenos and portugal peppers here in NH every year, so I use those, as well as sweet peppers. I use red or white onions, and I add extra seasonings. I've found that apple cider vinegar and lemon juice work just as well as white vinegar. I also agree with other reviewers who reduced the amount of sugar. This is an amazing recipe, and one I will continue to make for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluegrassgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I made this twice, once as directed, it was too sweet, the second time I omitted the sugar, and the tomato paste, and just added a few more tomatoes. also the second time I used Jalapeno peppers, and not the banana peppers. the tomatoes and Jalapeno peppers came from my garden. I did not need the cayenne pepper when I added the Jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was good!! I made several jars. It was my first time canning, I also added some extra lemon juice since it is required when canning tomatoes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
As written it was quite mild for me, so I added 1 cup of jalapeños and some jalapeno powder and it was ok, not great. I tried it first without the sugar as I did not want that many carbs, but it was quite bitter. I think the bitterness came from the membranes of the peppers which I left in there, but I'm not positive. The only other place it could be from is the tomato paste, which seems a long shot. I omitted the salt as I am on a low salt diet and even with canned jalapenos it still came to around 50mg per 2 Tbs. serving. Hopefully after it sits awhile it will seem hotter and a bit more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. I'm gonna try with less sugar, though, because people seem to like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
to runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I have made this salsa 5 times, doubling it the last 4 as it was so good! I have friends that beg for jars of it, one who will eat a one litre whole jar in two days! I misread the recipe the first time i made it and bought a jalapeno pepper to put into it instead of banana peppers - i didn't want to waste all my chopping work so added half the pepper diced up and reduced the cayenne pepper to half...it was a home run! I have made it to the recipe once (just to see what the original was like) and 2 more times with the jalapeno - and the "mistake" version is my most requested but both are awesome. I have also added a mix of yellow, red and orange peppers instead of the green, added all of the sugar and replaced the yellow onion with more white and red - and it was a different flavor but was really good too. This is a very flexible and forgiving recipe which i know i will make over and over and over - planning my garden around it for next summer!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States