Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Wow! This is better than anything you can buy in the store. I only cut sugar in 1/2 and added a couple of jalapenos for some extra kick. Everybody wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This is s great recipe giving a nice consistency and a good base for some alternatives. I made four batches altering the amount of sugar (1/4 cup brown sugar only, left out thr cayenne pepper and substituted habenaro and ghost peppers (fresh) along with the juice of two limes, three cloves of garlic, and a handful of fresh cilantro (enough stems to fill the circumfrence of your thumb and index finger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I love this salsa! i've made it last year and this year, and I forgot how the balance of spicy and sweet are just perfect together. I really appreciate the instructions on canning too, since i'd never done it before last year. I was deathly afraid of getting everyone sick by not sealing the cans right, but we didn't have time to find out, my familly ate it so fast, the whole batch was gone in a week! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
As is, way too sweet for my taste, and not enough kick - albeit Tami did mention adjusting peppers to preference so I'm not rating based on that point. Good base recipe but like most others I modified it so much that I won't rate based on the changes, it defeats the purpose of rating! The flavor as written was balanced as far as salt to heat and if you were looking for a sweet salsa, this is your go to recipe. I think I'm going to write up my own recipe to post based on all the changes I made because quite frankly, in the end, this is the best salsa I have ever put in my mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Haddam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe. I had never made salsa before, so I called my brother to ask if I really had to PEEL the tomatoes...he said yes, but it is easy if you put them in boiling water for 2-3 minutes, then put them in an ice bath to cool. Core the tomatoes and the skin will slip right off. I also could not find fresh banana peppers, so used ones that came in a jar. This salsa was great fresh, but I did cook it, although I did not simmer for 3 hours. Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I added cucumber to the recipe, added chicken base to help cut down the sweetness, add lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Made a half sized batch of this using stuff from my garden. Used a jalapeno, a habanero, a cayenne and a lot more tomatoes than onions. Kept the rest the same, except I omitted the cayenne powder because I didn't know how hot it would end up. It turned out awesome, and not all that hot but very sweet with a good bite. I don't even really like salsa, but I canned this stuff and I've personally eaten three jars this month. Next time I'll make it hotter and give it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Loved it. Added some extra Jalapenos and habanero peppers for some heat. It made it perfectly sweet and hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
We are still loving it! Got 7 pints yield. This is an awesome recipe!! I'll just add that doing this alone, as I did, the prep time is much longer than 45 mins. I spent about 6 hours total from blanching tomatoes to dropping jars full of salsa into the water bath. I might be a little slow though. Whatever the case, it is worth the effort ... DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmh221

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is me and my boyfriends first time of gardening and canning and we are having a blast :) This recipe is very, very good. It is for sure a Rockin Salsa... Thank you for sharing it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Smith Snavely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States