Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I've made this recipe for the past 2 years and I LOVE it. A few alterations though that I think really make the taste (for me at least)is that I vary the pepper mix. I tend to add jalapenos in place of the green peppers and add more banana peppers to make up the difference. I just like the brighter taste, and I think the spice helps cut the sweetness. The other major change I make is the most crucial, and that's that I get rid of the sugar all together and replace it with maple syrup at a 3/4c maple syrup:1c sugar ratio. The slight smokiness from our maple syrup (home cooked) really seems to complement the peppers and keep the salsa from getting 'candy-like' sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This is by far my favorite salsa recipe!!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I just made this salsa recipe - my new favorite salsa! I used our own home grown tomatoes - a new seedless hybrid variety that proved to be perfect for salsa. Some alterations I made were: I added fresh chopped cilantro, only used 1 white onion, substituted jalapeno peppers for the banana peppers, used 1 green pepper and 1 sweet red pepper, and used 2 - 12 oz cans of tomato paste. I agreed with some of the other reviews that it is a bit too sweet so I added more salt as 1 person suggested. This salsa has a wonderful blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I used this recipe last year for my salsa. I made 75 pints of it. I still have a little left just enough to carry over until I start to make it again with this recipe. I drained the juice off of some and not on some for husband. I like it thicker than he does. This is the best recipe I found so far!! I took some to work and my friends loved it. The word of how wonderful my salsa was went around the factory really fast. I even had people asking to buy it. THIS IS A KEEPER FOR ME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Excellent salsa. We made it again this year for the second time. This has been our favorite also. We added 3 tablespoons of lime juice for a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is a good salsa recipe. I will cut back on the Cumin next time - personal preference. I cut back the sugar by about 1/2 and that was just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I get so many compliments on this salsa! Everyone consistently says it's the best salsa they've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
My whole family loved this salsa. I did cut down on the sugar like other people said. I put 2 Tablespoons of each and it was just about right. At least that is how we liked it. It was a little sweeter still than the store bought but I thought it gave it something special. Thank you so much we will be making more of it in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I've tried many salsa recipes, looking for "the one" that would satisfy my entire family's taste buds. This is it!! Hubby, kids & spouses as well as grandkids love this! I use my own tomatoes & peppers which makes it extra delicious. May try to grow my own onions this year as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This salsa is a big hit around my house. Thank you for sharing! I did find it a bit sweet, so the second time I made it I only used 1/4 brown sugar and no white sugar. Yummmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Chef John's Nectarine Salsa

You've got to try this sweet and spicy fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States