Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
The best that I have made, I even put some corn and black beans in one batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I canned a large batch of this mostly following the recipe. In the middle of December in Ohio, I popped open a jar and it tasted just as good as the day I canned it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this, but reduced the amounts of each ingredient because I only wanted enough for my boyfriend and I. It was really good. :) To me, it tastes a lot like the salsa at La Carreta. I didn't have bell peppers or red onion on hand, so I left those out. My boyfriend also requested that it be a little hotter after he taste-tested the salsa I had made, so I added more banana pepper and cayenne, and I also threw in a little white pepper and some tabasco. I really liked it, and I am not a salsa eater. My boyfriend wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Halley Jarrett

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
First to make this salas and it's the best. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alycia Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Very good. I used double the cumin, no cayenne, six jalapeños, one bell pepper and only two table spoons of brown sugar, no white sugar. Marc would prefer no sugar and chunkier. I boiled for three full hours. I did not have tomato paste so I used some homemade tomato sauce. Overall, this is a hit. Worth making again whe the garden puts out lots of tomatoes and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I made this last year and canned them in pint size jars. I gave a few of them out to my friends and I was told it was the best salsa they had ever had. Time to make more for the upcoming winter. thanks for a great recipe Tami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time ever making salsa. My family loved it so much, I have to make more this weekend! Great recipe, I will never buy store brand salsa again. This was so easy. This time I'm adding jalopenos instead of cayenne powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This salsa was disappointing. 1. no cilantro, 2. no jalepeno peppers, and 3. tomato paste. but gave it a shot. I used a red and white onion and raw sugar only, nixed the banana peppers, sauteed the onions and green pepper in a pan, added the tomatoes, paste and spices, and voila! It tasted like tomato sauce. I even added cilantro to try and make it taste more like salsa... but it didn't help. Oh well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Since I've not tasted it yet, I will give it 4 stars. I usually read reviews first but didn't do it this time. I followed the recipe exactly except I added roasted hatch chiles. I hope it's not too sweet! It was a little soupier than I typically like but if it tastes good, I can deal with that. I might mention this was my first go around with canning salsa. I chopped veggies FOR AN ETERNITY! I sure hope the flavor of the salsa makes all of that time spent chopping veggies worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This recipe was FAR from what the other comments say they are! This salsa was SUPER sweet even with the sugars cut in half, was super thick and I think Pace's picante sauce is actually better. Suggestion- No sugar, no tomato paste, and add some spicy peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nate crist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States