Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is pretty good. I did make some changes though... I used 2 red onions & 1 white onion and I omitted the banana peppers and the tomato paste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay City, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This has Way too much sugar!! Next time I will leave out the brown sugar and only put in 1/4 cup of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is the best ever salsa recipe! I first made this with my in-laws (we had never made salsa before). We were blown away with how great it turned out. I now make double batches any chance I get. I give out jars to friends and family, who keep asking me for more. Several people have asked me for this recipe, and friends of friends are even requesting it. It's quite the talk of the town! The changes I make are eliminating the banana peppers, and possibly adding one jalapeno for a little kick. I also use a food processor to chop the onions and peppers up (this saves a lot of time/headache). I also add a bunch of cilantro about 30 min before it's done cooking. I have also cooked this in a large crock pot with the lid sideways. It works fine, but takes about double the cooking time. I really wish I could give this recipe more than five stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is awesome! Made a bunch to give away as gifts. I have people fighting over it and stealing jars from each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Big props for this recipe, probably the best that I've ran across! We killed 2 jars of this in about an hour at Thanksgiving and there were only 3 of us. This salsa has an amazing taste with the perfect amount of heat. I made some changes as well just out of personal preference. I did cut the sugars back some as others had indicated. Also substituted fresh habenero peppers from the garden instead of banana along with some chilpotle peppers in adobo sauce which even enhanced the flavor just that much more. In addition we added corn, black beans and cilantro to our preference. I think this will easily be my "go to" recipe for salsa from here on out so thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Made salsa for the first time recently. This was a big hit with everyone I've served it to. Have passed on the recipe to others at their request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I thought it tasted a little too sweet. I'd probably try leaving out some of the sugar and adding some jalopenas. However, not a bad salsa :
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Awesome recipe. I made a few changes.. I added tomatilloes and corn, but kept everything else pretty much the same. I tripled the recipe, and it is so good the jars are just flying off the shelf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This salsa is excellent. BUT whatever you do, CUT down the sugar! I used 1 T. of each brown and white and it still has plenty of a sweet undertone to it. Otherwise great texture, thickness and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States