Rock Salt Roast Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This make a beautiful, delicious roast, and the salt shell makes for a dramatic presentation if you chip it away at the table before carving. I did it for Christmas 2001 and it immediatly became the dish we will be making for Christmas dinner from then on. The horeseradish sauce adds zip and is good for those who don't like full strength horseradish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
GREAT recipe and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving, and then again last weekend.... It has been requested for Christmas, too! This produces a restaurant quality meal, which was an instant hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I made the mistake of not following the recipe exactly and did not use the full cup of mustard. My salt did not form a true crust and was difficult to get off making the meat salty. It was however very tender and juicy so I think the crust will work if you use the whole cup of mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I did this incorrectly (bigger roast without increasing the mustard), the crust didn't form and fall away as was intended. So some servings had to have the salt carved away. It was still delicious and I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This was only my second attempt at Prime Rib. This recipe is a keeper. I couldn't find prepared hot mustard, so I used sweet hot mustard. It was a little runny so the salt didn't stay on the sides very well. I also altered the baking time, 1 hour at 450, then I turned down the temp to 350 till the core temp was 120. After resting for a few minutes, the rost was a perfect medium rare. So, our Christmas dinner prime rib was tender and flavorful. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ontario, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I could not get very much rock salt to stick to the rib roast BUT it turned out great and everyone LOVED it. Alot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
The best way to cook prime rib ... juicy, tender & easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
WOW! What a great recipe....I had guests over for dinner and they were all guinea pigs to this recipe...and they all LOVED it! They all asked for the recipe....haven't decided if I want to give the secret away! :-) Good job on the creator of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
WOW! Yummy! I used regular salt. The roast turned out awsome! There were 14 at our Dinner Party and not a plate had any food left on it! This one is definatly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States