Rock Salt Roast Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Excellent, easy to do recipe for this old time favorite. I always wondered how they made such perfect prime rib at places like the Nugget in Reno. This is the closest I have gotten to that fine fare. Remember to add time for larger roasts. I used water softener coarse rock salt and it formed a perfect shell that kept all of the juicy goodness inside. The meat wasn't salty at all. I believe that the secret is in using coarse rock salt, nothing finer. For my 6lb roast with the bones in, 90 minute was the perfect amount of time. Be sure your oven is actually reaching 450 deg. Many aren't accurate at that temp. Measure with an accurate oven thermometer for perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Great taste, melts in your mouth. I have cooked prime rib before this way but without mustard. I will now use the mustard. Delicious indeed !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Cooked buffet in a truck stop years ago when cooking was still really cooking instead of opening preportioned trays pf precooked, frozen entrees. This was the way I cooked 4 primes every friday night. People drove from miles around to eat this. It is still the best way to cook Prime Rib although I've tried several other methods since then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzylips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corning, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Where do you find the proper rick salt. I ended up using course Kosher Salt. The roast was good but I didn't get the results I thought I should get if I had been able to use Rock Salt. The Kosher salt just wouldn't stay on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
hubby loved it- cooked perfectly and was very tender....crust formed on top but not bottom.....even when I took the crust off...I just felt myself retaining water!!! It was very salty. I think it might be great with less salt and maybe some garlic though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Excellent...meat was juicy and flavorful. I didn't have rock salt but used coarse sea salt and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Very easy - used spicy brown mustard and turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
The meat was tender, but way too salty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This has become our Christmas tradition. Easy and extremely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Musick (Granny)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
My husband and I had this for our low key New Year's Eve dinner. It was fantastic and we both agreed it was the best we've ever had! It was better than any prime rib I've ever had in a restaurant. I really liked the high heat method, as opposed to the low and slow recipes. I smeared some dijon mustard all over the roast before I pressed the salt onto it. I also ended up using kosher salt instead of the rock salt, but it didn't affect the flavor at all. Since we made it, we've been talking about this recipe to everyone we know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States