Rock Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This recipe was very delicious. It came out perfectly medium rare and was so tender and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I used this recipie for my New Year's Eve dinner and it was absolutely fabulous! I did a 7lb prime rib roast, roasted it first for 30 min, then cooked it for an additional 1 hr 40 min, rest for 30 min. At first I was quite hesitant cooking a prime rib roast with a rock-salt crust, and which took less time that any of the other recipies I had researched. Since the crust covers the entire roast, you don't see what's happening on the outside. So during the entire cooking time, I was praying to the food God's that I did not mess up on this expensive piece of meat. (Please note, that I am a novice cook, so I don't have the experience yet to know what works or not.) However, once it was done and I removed the crust, it was like a gift sent from heaven! I think that it turned out better than any other rib roast that I had tasted. I followed all the directions and added all the recommended ingredients, with the exception of sticking some garlic cloves into the roast and roasting it initially for 30 min instead of the recommended 20 min (as suggested by some members, thanks guys!) , but other than that, it turned out to be a hit. My brother, who is the biggest food critique, said that this was the best prime rib roast he has ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestoeat!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
It was good. The crust was a lot of fun. My only mistake was that I didn't realize how fast it would be finished. I had read the package it came in and it said around 3 hours at 350. I think it was done in about an hour. Next time I will insert garlic pieces into the meat to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I've made salt encrusted prime rib several times but this was the best yet! I got rave reviews from my family and one of them who never compliments even asked for the recipe. I made a couple minor changes: I used beefy onion soup mix instead of the onion soup mix and added mixed garlic to the rub under the salt. I also added a small amount of Emeril's Steak Seasoning to the rub. Ummmm....all this just added to the wonderful flavor! Only negative was that I waited until the temp was at 130 before I took the roast out to rest for 20 minutes and it was well done through out. Luckily it was still juicy and yummy! Next time I would take it out at a lower temp. While I like well done meat, I know that others prefer it med rare to rate. I also encrusted the full roast (including the bottom rib side) even though I put the salt mix at the bottom of the pan - I think this helped to seal in all the wonderful juices and helped to keep the well done meat juicy and tender. Great recipe and I know this will be the one that I use in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Only way to cook a prime rib! My husband’s idea to fix this Christmas Day – wanted something rather than turkey. OH WOW it was fabulous. Seasoned the outside of the prime rib with rosemary, garlic, Cajun seasonings. Next time we will inject some au jus in it. Other thing we did different…put it in at the high temperature of 475 for 30 minutes so the outer layer would sear quickly. After that the temperature went to 325. We also put a layer of rock salt on the bottom and on all sides of the roaster. Just excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made Prime Rib for the first time for Christmas Dinner and this recipe was easy and excellent! I did lower the salt from 8 cups to 4 and it was excellent. My family LOVED it! clean up was a bit messy ... I will use parchement paper before adding the mixture to the roasting pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I wasn't too impressed with this recipe. I had a 20 pound prime rib and this was not enough mixture to cover the whole roast. After roasting for 30 minutes, the paste had shrunk so much, I couldn't do any "patch" jobs, so I let it cook as was. Getting the crust off was a challenge because it was so hard, like a plaster cast. As I was breaking it off, pieces kept flying all over the place. The meat was delicious and moist, but I have had equal results with other recipes, and none of the mess. We had a party of 24 and though we all laughed and had a "crack at it", no one is interested in using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This Prime Rib, ranks at the very top of my list. It was great, very tender and tasty. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CubanCook48

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I have been making prime rib for several years but this is now my favorite recipe. Be brave and try it...it was well worth it! I did use kosher salt instead of rock salt. It worked fine. I also used a tuscan herb mix that I found at Costco instead of the onion soup and rosemary. I used about 1/3 or so of a cup of the seasoning. It smelled so good and I was surprised that the meat took on the perfert amount of seasoning even though it was tossed out after cooking with the salt/flour crust. It smelled so good that I used this mix in my mashed potatoes too! I put the crust on my rib while it was on my counter instead of in the pan, as in the instructions. I used a bone-in rib and cooked it on my roasting rack. I completely covered the meat (bones and all) in the crust. It was very easy to work with and went together very well. Then I cooked it on my rack and had no trouble with the crust sticking to the pan. I also changed up the temp a bit. I cooked a 17 lb rib for 1/2 hour at 425 and then reduced to 325 for the remaining 3 hours. I used a meat therm. and took it out of the oven at 115 degrees and then let it rest for 1/2 hour. It was perfect. Tip: if you have a George Forman grill, it is really helpful for your guests who like their prime rib more well than medium rare. You can pop a rare piece on the GF grill and in seconds have it more well done. It was really fun to serve my friends a great piece of prime rib that was like something they would get at a very
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leialohadm
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was the most awesomely delicous prime rib I have ever tasted and what is even more thrilling is the fact that I was able to make it! The only different thing I did was instead of a 20 lb Prime roast I uses a 5.5 lb prime roast. Instead of cutting the ingredients by 1/4, I cut it by 1/2 so that it would be really tasty and also so that I would have a little more of the rock salt dough that was required (since it was the first time I did this). I'm glad I did that because it can be messy and I took the suggestion of using plastic baggy gloves, which really helped. I ended up using all the rock salt dough and it came out beautiful! I am no longer afraid to purchase this expensive roast for fear of serving a mediocre dish. Thank you so much for sharing this easy and wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leialohadm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States