Rock Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I really didn't think I could do it, But I did and it was amazing and really easy. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Excellent roast,but a pain to chip off all the rock salt.Plus some of the salt gets into the drippings,which I combine with beef broth for dipping,but is now too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ex-Braniff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
We had this when the family came for Christmas. Everyone enjoyed, even the little grandkids, who don't care much for meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I am a widower and have never cooked for more than myself. For Christmas, I deceided I needed the confidence building for myself to cook a meal for my family (8 including great grand kids) and this was a real hit for them and myself. I fixed a 11# deboned rib roast with the instructions provided. I may have started too early as the meat was finnished in about 2 hours. Must say it was excellent and the left overs were fond memories of Christmas with my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was the best prime rib I have ever cooked. I have always used rock salt to cook a prime rib, but it doesn't stick to the meat. This year, I used the recipe listed here for the rock salt case. It worked perfectly! Normally I don't modify recipes, but I did modify the seasonings on the meat to what I like, and I changed the cooking temperature. I cooked the meat at 450 degrees for 30 minutes as per the recipe, then I lowered the temperature to 250 degrees for 4 hours (until it reacher 135 degrees) for a 12 lb prime rib. The meat was butter tender, flavorful, and perfectly medium. WOnderful recipe that I definately recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ranchwife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alturas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
it was perfection, that's all you can say about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
We just used a small roast, but the meat was still cooked perfectly. The leftovers were a bit salty though. the biggest pain about this was the cleanup. It took 3 days of soaking to get the shell off the pan. Next time would definitely use a disposable pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
gorgeous. I've had this 3 times now and have never been disappointed. Be sure to have an au jus sauce on the side, and make your yorkshire's from butter.... I've never had prime so moist and perfect. A little messy, but so is a super to remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Ditto! Turned out fantastic!! I did a 5.5 lb prime rib and cut the salt and flour both to 2 cups and just added water to pasty consistancy. Kept the rosemary at 2 tbsp, 2 packs of onion mix and only 1 tbsp pepper. This crust is a little more work on the front end, but so much easier to take off in the end vs. a regular rock salt crust. I did 425 for 30 minutes and 325 for an hour and 15 min like a few previous posts, probably could have cut that to 50-60 minutes total, it was pretty well done for prime rib, but still juicy and tender. I also didn't bother coating the bottom, just the top and all sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Excellent! Next time I'll put foil in the pan for easier cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States