Rock Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I was very determine to find the BEST prime rib recipe and I found it. I've tried many prime rib recipes and this is by far THE BEST. I used 5 1/2 pounds and it asked for 2 1/2 cups of Rock Salt. The outside came out a little bit on the salty side. I would probably recommend 2 cups instead. I also added EXTRA Rosemary. I also did what one of the viewer did, cook 450 degree for 30 minutes and then turned down to 325 degree and cook the remaining 1 hour and 15 minutes. Removed the meat at 130 degree and let the meat sit for 15 minutes. The meat came out medium rare... PERFECT! Thank you for sharing and this recipe belong to a 10 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by locopups

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This turned out awesome! The only thing I did wrong (was not thinking at all) was that I used my clay pot. Not a good idea. I would not only recommend, but insist on using a disposable pan to ensure cleanup. That's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I have been making prime rib for several years but this is now my favorite recipe. Be brave and try it...it was well worth it! I did use kosher salt instead of rock salt. It worked fine. I also used a tuscan herb mix that I found at Costco instead of the onion soup and rosemary. I used about 1/3 or so of a cup of the seasoning. It smelled so good and I was surprised that the meat took on the perfert amount of seasoning even though it was tossed out after cooking with the salt/flour crust. It smelled so good that I used this mix in my mashed potatoes too! I put the crust on my rib while it was on my counter instead of in the pan, as in the instructions. I used a bone-in rib and cooked it on my roasting rack. I completely covered the meat (bones and all) in the crust. It was very easy to work with and went together very well. Then I cooked it on my rack and had no trouble with the crust sticking to the pan. I also changed up the temp a bit. I cooked a 17 lb rib for 1/2 hour at 425 and then reduced to 325 for the remaining 3 hours. I used a meat therm. and took it out of the oven at 115 degrees and then let it rest for 1/2 hour. It was perfect. Tip: if you have a George Forman grill, it is really helpful for your guests who like their prime rib more well than medium rare. You can pop a rare piece on the GF grill and in seconds have it more well done. It was really fun to serve my friends a great piece of prime rib that was like something they would get at a very
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This recipe is the greatest! I have always cooked Prime Rib for Christmas. and this is the BEST. I did have to modify-ingred. down size to 5lbs and adjusted the temp, I cooked at 450 for 30 min then 325 about 1hour 15min(elevation) 3900 feet. not to mention the comments on the volcanic looking thing.which everyone had to touch. and Grandaughter (8)explained to everyone that she wasn't going to eat that!!Well she did and everyone LOVE IT.I enjoy checking out allrecipes.com Thanks Ronda,in Utah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I used this recipie for my New Year's Eve dinner and it was absolutely fabulous! I did a 7lb prime rib roast, roasted it first for 30 min, then cooked it for an additional 1 hr 40 min, rest for 30 min. At first I was quite hesitant cooking a prime rib roast with a rock-salt crust, and which took less time that any of the other recipies I had researched. Since the crust covers the entire roast, you don't see what's happening on the outside. So during the entire cooking time, I was praying to the food God's that I did not mess up on this expensive piece of meat. (Please note, that I am a novice cook, so I don't have the experience yet to know what works or not.) However, once it was done and I removed the crust, it was like a gift sent from heaven! I think that it turned out better than any other rib roast that I had tasted. I followed all the directions and added all the recommended ingredients, with the exception of sticking some garlic cloves into the roast and roasting it initially for 30 min instead of the recommended 20 min (as suggested by some members, thanks guys!) , but other than that, it turned out to be a hit. My brother, who is the biggest food critique, said that this was the best prime rib roast he has ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestoeat!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leialohadm
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was the most awesomely delicous prime rib I have ever tasted and what is even more thrilling is the fact that I was able to make it! The only different thing I did was instead of a 20 lb Prime roast I uses a 5.5 lb prime roast. Instead of cutting the ingredients by 1/4, I cut it by 1/2 so that it would be really tasty and also so that I would have a little more of the rock salt dough that was required (since it was the first time I did this). I'm glad I did that because it can be messy and I took the suggestion of using plastic baggy gloves, which really helped. I ended up using all the rock salt dough and it came out beautiful! I am no longer afraid to purchase this expensive roast for fear of serving a mediocre dish. Thank you so much for sharing this easy and wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leialohadm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this for New Years and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuffalosMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Only way to cook a prime rib! My husband’s idea to fix this Christmas Day – wanted something rather than turkey. OH WOW it was fabulous. Seasoned the outside of the prime rib with rosemary, garlic, Cajun seasonings. Next time we will inject some au jus in it. Other thing we did different…put it in at the high temperature of 475 for 30 minutes so the outer layer would sear quickly. After that the temperature went to 325. We also put a layer of rock salt on the bottom and on all sides of the roaster. Just excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was the best prime rib I have ever cooked. I have always used rock salt to cook a prime rib, but it doesn't stick to the meat. This year, I used the recipe listed here for the rock salt case. It worked perfectly! Normally I don't modify recipes, but I did modify the seasonings on the meat to what I like, and I changed the cooking temperature. I cooked the meat at 450 degrees for 30 minutes as per the recipe, then I lowered the temperature to 250 degrees for 4 hours (until it reacher 135 degrees) for a 12 lb prime rib. The meat was butter tender, flavorful, and perfectly medium. WOnderful recipe that I definately recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ranchwife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alturas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Excellent! Next time I'll put foil in the pan for easier cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States