Rock Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I wasn't too impressed with this recipe. I had a 20 pound prime rib and this was not enough mixture to cover the whole roast. After roasting for 30 minutes, the paste had shrunk so much, I couldn't do any "patch" jobs, so I let it cook as was. Getting the crust off was a challenge because it was so hard, like a plaster cast. As I was breaking it off, pieces kept flying all over the place. The meat was delicious and moist, but I have had equal results with other recipes, and none of the mess. We had a party of 24 and though we all laughed and had a "crack at it", no one is interested in using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This Prime Rib, ranks at the very top of my list. It was great, very tender and tasty. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CubanCook48

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I have been making prime rib for several years but this is now my favorite recipe. Be brave and try it...it was well worth it! I did use kosher salt instead of rock salt. It worked fine. I also used a tuscan herb mix that I found at Costco instead of the onion soup and rosemary. I used about 1/3 or so of a cup of the seasoning. It smelled so good and I was surprised that the meat took on the perfert amount of seasoning even though it was tossed out after cooking with the salt/flour crust. It smelled so good that I used this mix in my mashed potatoes too! I put the crust on my rib while it was on my counter instead of in the pan, as in the instructions. I used a bone-in rib and cooked it on my roasting rack. I completely covered the meat (bones and all) in the crust. It was very easy to work with and went together very well. Then I cooked it on my rack and had no trouble with the crust sticking to the pan. I also changed up the temp a bit. I cooked a 17 lb rib for 1/2 hour at 425 and then reduced to 325 for the remaining 3 hours. I used a meat therm. and took it out of the oven at 115 degrees and then let it rest for 1/2 hour. It was perfect. Tip: if you have a George Forman grill, it is really helpful for your guests who like their prime rib more well than medium rare. You can pop a rare piece on the GF grill and in seconds have it more well done. It was really fun to serve my friends a great piece of prime rib that was like something they would get at a very
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leialohadm
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was the most awesomely delicous prime rib I have ever tasted and what is even more thrilling is the fact that I was able to make it! The only different thing I did was instead of a 20 lb Prime roast I uses a 5.5 lb prime roast. Instead of cutting the ingredients by 1/4, I cut it by 1/2 so that it would be really tasty and also so that I would have a little more of the rock salt dough that was required (since it was the first time I did this). I'm glad I did that because it can be messy and I took the suggestion of using plastic baggy gloves, which really helped. I ended up using all the rock salt dough and it came out beautiful! I am no longer afraid to purchase this expensive roast for fear of serving a mediocre dish. Thank you so much for sharing this easy and wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leialohadm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This by far has to be the best tasting prime rib roast I have ever made. It wasn't at all salty in flavour, it was however moist and flavourful! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I had to improvise on a few ingredients but the overall flavor was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This is the best Prime Rib I've ever tasted. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I was very determine to find the BEST prime rib recipe and I found it. I've tried many prime rib recipes and this is by far THE BEST. I used 5 1/2 pounds and it asked for 2 1/2 cups of Rock Salt. The outside came out a little bit on the salty side. I would probably recommend 2 cups instead. I also added EXTRA Rosemary. I also did what one of the viewer did, cook 450 degree for 30 minutes and then turned down to 325 degree and cook the remaining 1 hour and 15 minutes. Removed the meat at 130 degree and let the meat sit for 15 minutes. The meat came out medium rare... PERFECT! Thank you for sharing and this recipe belong to a 10 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by locopups

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I've never made prime rib before, and this was so easy, and so good!! I would recommend placing foil in the bottom of your pan to make clean-up easier. It took quite a bit of soaking to get the salt mixture out of the roaster, but it was soooo worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This turned out awesome! The only thing I did wrong (was not thinking at all) was that I used my clay pot. Not a good idea. I would not only recommend, but insist on using a disposable pan to ensure cleanup. That's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States