Rock Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent Recipe...I did this last Christmas and will be doing it again this year...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
WOW! Definately the best recipe I have ever used for prime rib! Deceptively simple......I had a 7lb. roast, so I 1/2ed the other ingredients, I started with 1 cup water added to the flour mixture; then added more little by little until I had a soft playdough consistency. Then I turned the roast fat side down, pressed the 'playdough' on the bottom of the roast, then turned the roast fat side up and continued to press the 'playdough' mixture around the roast until it was sealed inside the 'playdough'. When ready to serve, I cracked the 'playdough' shell and removed the roast. It looks like an eggshell cracked in 2. Sooooo easy, and tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very good, didn't come out salty as I was afraid using all that salt in the paste you made to cover the primerib. I would do it again, though it is very messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mskinue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tjohnsonwi
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
We made Prime Rib for New Year's Eve this year using your recipe....IMPRESSED! Very very good flavor, moist, and juicy. I didn't put the "cast" on the bottom of the meat, just the top and sides and it was superb! My husband is very picky about his prime rib and he thought it was delish! I cooked it to 130 and let it sit for 15 minutes. The temp rose to 140 and it was perfect! We used "Johnnys" Au Jus on the side (since the others said it was too salty to use its own - however, I saved it and dumped over a roast prior to cooking I made a few days later and it too was great) Yummmmmmm, making my mouth water just thinking out it. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjohnsonwi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Wayyyyyyy too salty.... I'm not going to rate this because obviously I did something wrong, but reviewed the recipe and can't find where I went wrong. Mine was saltier than salt itself, absolutely inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was an excellent meal! Served this Christmas Day and was a HUGE hit! Everyone asked for it again next year!! Was delicious and moist, flavorful and actually very simple to do. The only issue I had was that I kept it in the oven until it reached 130 degrees with the meat thermometer and it wasn't quite as pink as I had hoped until we got to the very center. My roast was only 10 pounds, so that may have been the difference. I encourage anyone to try this is you love prime rib..easy and absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Two thumbs up! I halved this recipe for my smaller roast. Used Johnny's Au Jus, its the best out there. You can google it and order from company in Tacoma, WA. Best prime rib we ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jannaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this for New Years and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuffalosMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Made this for family holiday dinner. It was fantastic and everyone loved it. I didn't change a thing! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I will never cook prime rib any other way! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States