Rock Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
First time hosting Christmas Eve Family gathering of 25 people so why not also attempt to cook Prime Rib for first time as well? After discussions with a few people I was conflicted on the whole salt, non-salt discussion - "It's salt so it dries it out" vs "It's salt so it keeps it moist." A family member had planned on hosting so they already had the rock salt, so went with salt. This recipe got my attention because of a) the rave reviews and b) the flour salt crust made sense to me that it would keep it moist. I had two 8 lb's & a 5 lb roasts. I made my (first) batch of flour/salt/rosemary paste & ran out after the first roast. Luckily my wife was around & was able to mix up a new batch. 15 minutes later, I had created quite a mess, everything looked covered butI panicked. It looks atrocious. I had extra rock salt so I dumped that over the entire thing. I started it out at 450 degrees for 20 minutes & then turned it down to 350. When it got to 100 degrees, & some of the guests not there yet, I turned the oven to 250. At 120 degrees I took the roast out. Let it sit for about 20 minutes while I stared at the smoldering salt covered very expensive piece of meat. To my delight, after 20 minutes I stabbed at the shell I had created & it split just like a shell should. Very easily moved the shells aside and pulled out the meat. Swiped away the remainging rock salt and all looked perfect. THE MEAT WAS DELICIOUS. Best I've ever had. Unreal. Pans are still soaking though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This turned out perfectly. It was a little work intensive but well worth the effort!This was my first attempt at prime rib and was very pleased. I made the recipe for 4 so adjust time accordingly. Cooked it then 30 min. then an hour and 15 min. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
There as an excessive amount of salt transfer from the crust to the meat. Found that even the interior cuts of the roast were excessively salty. End cuts were unpleasant. Next time I will use 2 or 3 layers of cooking parchment. Given the results of the roast, the waste of resources (salt and flour), and the increased preparation time; if I could rate this recipe at less than 1, I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is the BEST recipe for Prime Rib! Awesome! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Everyone loved this recipe, however it was very stressful to cook. I planned on it taking it about 3 hours based on the instructions. I had a bone in 15lb prime rib at followed all the directions. 450 and then repatched the holes. After an hour of cooking the Prime Rib was registering 170 degrees! It was done in 1 hour for some reason, I turned the oven down to 200 and waited it out for the next two hours. I think this recipe needs to be revisited because realistically I could of served it after an hour. All my visitors were very impressed with the Prime Rib as was I. I just wish the cooking time was more clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I used fresh rosemary from my garden and just stripped it from the branches and wound up using 3 cups of water to get that sticky texture for the coating - this was absolutely DIVINE! Extremely juicy and the BEST flavor of any salt encrusted roast I've ever made - I'm so glad I couldn't find the recipe I usually go to~ Thank you SO much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Don't change anything. It's weird, but so good and perfect as the recipe reads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Super delicious and I didn't deviate much from the original recipe! Made this for dinner as an effort to build and practice my holiday cooking menu. I used a 10lb bone in standing rib roast that the butcher was kind enough to cut the bones and tie back with string. We halved the recipe for the pepper mix and salt crust. Definitely needed more water to make the salt crust doughy and I used twice the amount of rosemary. I let the rib roast sit to room temperature for about an hour and applied the pepper mix and salt crust. I didn't spread the salt crust over the entire bottom of pan, just did the roast. I placed it directly into a roasting pan without the grate, popped into a pre heated 450F oven for 35 minutes to sear, then took it out to fill in the cracks in the salt dough and let it cook for another 2 hours. Let it rest for 30 min and cracked it open to the amazement of our kids and dinner guest. It came out medium/medium well. We will definitely continue to use this recipe but keep a better eye on the temp so we can get more rare/medium pieces. Served with mashed potatoes, asparagus, green salad with orange vinaigrette dressing and creamy horseradish (Whipped horseradish recipe also on this site). This was a fabulous meal, and certainly not a waste of such a expensive cut of meat! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made this last night! Triple love it!! Needed a lot more water for the paste. Not a big deal. Also used Kosher salt, and it worked just great! I agree with others who recommended the Johnny au jus! It really is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I have never made Prime Rib before and I made this for Christmas Dinner. It was some of the best prime rib I have ever tasted! The only hard part was getting the shell off the meat! My husband had to use a saw, but once the crust was off it was tender, juicy and perfectly cooked! Thank you for making my first time cooking this a huge success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States