Rock Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I was great I love making it with friends and family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
this is the best cheesecake in the world but i add a little extra creme de menthe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This recipe was absolutely terrible. I found this recipe for my kids' science fair project. They were observing the growth of rock candy. Like some other reviewers said, the ratio for water to sugar was way of I found another recipe for rock candy on PBSKids.org and their result using that recipe turned out perfectly! WARNING: Don't use this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyaanbombcat
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
i did this differently , you will need: a jar, a pencil, string, 4cups sugar, and 2 cups water. dissolve sugar into water and pour into jar. then tie a piece of string to the pencil so that when you lay the pencil over the top of the jar, the string is in the water! leave alone for a few weeks, and then there you have it, perfect rock candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
"I LOVE IT"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Caroga Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
READ THIS BEFORE MAKING IT! The reason many had moldy water is because the ratio of sugar to water was wrong. You want the water to be supersaturated, so you'll need a 2:1 sugar to water ratio. You have to heat the water in a saucepan to do this. You also do not want to use foil or plastic wrap to cover it. You need the water to evaporate some and it'll take longer to make the crystals. If you use a tupperware container, rock candy will form on the sides of the container and they're really hard to get off. Don't forget to 'seed' the skewers/string by rolling sugar onto them. However, you'll need to have the sugar water cooler than room temperature so that you don't just dissolve the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Ingredient amounts aren't right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Wow this looks really great and fun Now I will have to try this! It looks like options are endless thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I was reading everyones reviews and I think the main problem is not enough sugar but also that when its being made it is not being heated enough. We learned in 5th grade that the crystals are formed by liquid that is heated to its extreme and then cooled slowly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This didn't work at all. After a few weeks all I had was a stick in a jar of coloured water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States