Rock Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Can u use a string of yarn to put in the water if u don't have skewers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This recipe was absolutely terrible. I found this recipe for my kids' science fair project. They were observing the growth of rock candy. Like some other reviewers said, the ratio for water to sugar was way of I found another recipe for rock candy on PBSKids.org and their result using that recipe turned out perfectly! WARNING: Don't use this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyaanbombcat
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
i did this differently , you will need: a jar, a pencil, string, 4cups sugar, and 2 cups water. dissolve sugar into water and pour into jar. then tie a piece of string to the pencil so that when you lay the pencil over the top of the jar, the string is in the water! leave alone for a few weeks, and then there you have it, perfect rock candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
"I LOVE IT"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Caroga Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
READ THIS BEFORE MAKING IT! The reason many had moldy water is because the ratio of sugar to water was wrong. You want the water to be supersaturated, so you'll need a 2:1 sugar to water ratio. You have to heat the water in a saucepan to do this. You also do not want to use foil or plastic wrap to cover it. You need the water to evaporate some and it'll take longer to make the crystals. If you use a tupperware container, rock candy will form on the sides of the container and they're really hard to get off. Don't forget to 'seed' the skewers/string by rolling sugar onto them. However, you'll need to have the sugar water cooler than room temperature so that you don't just dissolve the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Ingredient amounts aren't right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Wow this looks really great and fun Now I will have to try this! It looks like options are endless thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I was reading everyones reviews and I think the main problem is not enough sugar but also that when its being made it is not being heated enough. We learned in 5th grade that the crystals are formed by liquid that is heated to its extreme and then cooled slowly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This didn't work at all. After a few weeks all I had was a stick in a jar of coloured water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
As I was in the process of rolling the strawberries in the red colored sugar, my mother walked into the kitchen, right up to the table, looked down. "Where did you get the strawberries, humm, did'nt know we had any." I explained to her what they were, and how I made them. "hummm, smells like strawberries too". I thought to my self, what a nice compliment to this recipe. Oh yes I will use this over and over and many different flavors and colors. Two thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States