Robust Garlic Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
This recipe is wonderful, and as easy as baking a chicken normally is. It is nice, due to the nice medley of fresh herbs and lemon. One note, I didn't add all the butter mixture to the chicken, as it was quite a lot. Half of the mixture (with the full amount of herbs, just half the butter) works wonderfully as well. Or make the full batch, and use the rest of the herb butter for bread, etc. Additionally, I did not have kitchen twine, and so used dental floss (clean, of course!) and it worked perfectly! Not the quickest of recipes, it is a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Fabulous! I followed the recipe, only I used 1/2 cup butter instead of 1 cup; even though I had a 4.5 pound chicken, it was still enough. The chicken was very moist and flavorful. I changed the way I roasted it, though----I roasted it at 500 degrees for 20 minutes, breast side down, and then I flipped the chicken and turned the temp down to 375 and baked until done. Nice crispy chicken. My husband and I just LOVED it. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This chicken had great flavor. However, the cooking time is way off. I made the butter as directed and indeed there was a lot of it. But I was able to still use it as accents for the rest of the meal...some in the mashed potatoes, a little on the steamed green beans, and finally some on the table to spread on the bread. I still had a lot left over, so I can use this later in the week for other things. I will make this recipe again and next time I will take into account that the time needs to be pretty much doubled. The flavor was what made the recipe. I am going to look for more by this person! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
I tried this with boneless chicken breasts and stuffed the garlic and rosemary inbetween the skin. I would cut down on the rosemary and omit the garlic cloves next time. I baked it for 40 minutes on 350 and then put in in the broiler for a few minutes to brown the tops giving it more color and a bit "crunchier" crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
great chicken recipe, and a good base to use!! I made this figure friendly by using olive oil instead of butter (spreads just as well). Also, in addition to the lemon and garlic in the cavity, I added a quarter of an onion, and cut 4 thick slices of a sweet onion to use under the chicken as a natural "roasting rack". I baked this chicken uncovered at 375 degrees for exactly 1 hour 15 min, then removed and tented with foil for an additional 15 minutes before carving (my bird was approx 2.5 lbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
I liked it but my wife didn't. I really like garlic and so does she but I guess she doesn't like it as much as I do. As much as I enjoyed this recipe I still felt gulity using all that butter. If you're planning on making this you might want to waite until the guys come over for a football game. It would be a great half time treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
A tasty dish but not low-cal in any way with 1 cup of butter being used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
so-o-o-o very good - - don't miss this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I love this! I use the cheap 'frying chickens' and it's still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
An absolutely fantastic recipe; it's definitely one to save to impress guest on a special occasion. Far too good to make too often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States