Robust Garlic Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! this recipe was sooo delicious! My husband went crazy over it the other night. I used half the butter and loved all the garlic! This recipe is going in my recipe box! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I really like the flavor that this recipe creates, but I agree with others regarding the amount of butter and cooking time. My own variation is to combine the minced herbs, lemon zest, garlic, salt and pepper and stuff that under the skin, then add pats of butter after. I also add a small quarted onion into the cavity. I roast the bird at around 400 degrees the entire time (but I usually cook two bird for my huge family, so my cooking time is always longer). Even though I've changed alot of the procedures, I still think this recipe deserves 4 stars for the amazing taste that comes from this ratio of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Not sure how I feel about this one. I don't think that it was as flavorful as it could have been. The butter didn't spread well on the bird. The lemon on the inside of the chicken overpowered it a bit. It did however come out very moist. Maybe with a little extra seasoning and a little less lemon this would have been a real hit. I cooked this in a roasting bag to make sure that I didn't over cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This recipe was so easy to make. I did though only use half the butter. My dinner guests loved it. I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Great recipe. Originally I thought it used a little too much lemon, so the next time I used only about 3/4 the lemon zest. Took longer too prepare and cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Really loved the way this smelled while it was roasting and the flavour was very nice. I did cut back on the butter as others did, about 1/2 cup and I needed to cook for much longer. I think next time I would like to try this with a small turkey. I think it would give it a definite kick and it's so moist with the butter under the skin. also I turned the drippings into a cream sauce for my husband. No roast is complete for him without some sort of "gravy". Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Cameron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comox, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Angus, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
The calorie content, the fat and cholestral count make this recipe a bad choice no matter how good it taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This is a great roast chicken recipe, but if you find stuffing it with butter too much trouble, I agree that it's not really any different than other roast chicken recipes. I used about 1/3 to 1/2 cup Smart Balance Buttery Spread and it was plenty for a 5 lb chicken. I followed the other reviewer who said to start cooking it at 500 degrees, but I forgot to turn the oven down and flip the bird after 20 minutes! So I ended up cooking it at 500 for about 50 minutes, then at 350 for 20 or so minutes. Luckily, I didn't ruin it: it still tasted great and was very juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was good, but not good enough to justify the high calorie count and the very high cost. Next time I'll just brine the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Smelled incredible while cooking, and tasted fine. However, I didn't think it was any more flavorful than a simple roasted chicken, surprisingly, and with all that butter. I don't think it was worth the extra trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States