Robust Garlic Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This was the moistest, most flavorful chicken I've ever baked! After reading other reviews, I cut the butter to 1/2 cup (used light butter), even though I baked a 5 pound chicken, there was plenty left to put some on the potatoes, carrots and onions I put around the chicken. Poured a little chicken broth on the veggies along with the seasoned butter. Baked for an hour and a half. It looked terrific and tasted wonderful! Oops, almost forgot, I didn't have kitchen string so I tied the legs with a length of natural cotton yarn that I sanitized with boiling water. Worked as well as the string! Thanks for this tasty dish that I'll serve again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Delicious! the family loved it. we're big garlic lovers, so this was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was very good! My DH, who normally doesn't like roasted chicken, loved this recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I love this! I use the cheap 'frying chickens' and it's still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This was outstanding! The chicken was moist and flavorful. The kitchen smelled soooo good when it was cooking! I am definitely going to continue to use this method for cooking my chickens from now on. It was fantastic! And it's good enough for company. Serve with a nice salad and some bread and you've got yourself a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was soooooo good. I used olive oil instead of butter and it turned out great! This will be a staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
OMG so good, and smells absolutely amazing. I didn't have a lemon the second time I made it, so I used an orange and it was a very unique flavor. The chicken absolute absorbs all of the wonderful flavors. I gave the recipe to a coworker and she also loved it, we are making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
The herbs and lemon gave this chicken a delicious strong flavor. I cut the butter in half and it was still a bit too "buttery." The cooking time was also way too short. To make sure it was moist, I brined the chicken first (1/4c.sugar, 1/4c. kosher salt, 8 cups cold water) for a couple of hours in the fridge. This would have been a five star recipe if it wasn't for all the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! this recipe was sooo delicious! My husband went crazy over it the other night. I used half the butter and loved all the garlic! This recipe is going in my recipe box! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I really like the flavor that this recipe creates, but I agree with others regarding the amount of butter and cooking time. My own variation is to combine the minced herbs, lemon zest, garlic, salt and pepper and stuff that under the skin, then add pats of butter after. I also add a small quarted onion into the cavity. I roast the bird at around 400 degrees the entire time (but I usually cook two bird for my huge family, so my cooking time is always longer). Even though I've changed alot of the procedures, I still think this recipe deserves 4 stars for the amazing taste that comes from this ratio of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States