Robust Garlic Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This recipe was fantastic....I have never made a whole chicken before so I was quite happy with the way it turned out. I will be making this again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
A great recipe with 2 sticks of butter! I used dried oregano instead of rosemary because I didn't have any on hand. Fresh rosemary is what I'll use next time. Very juicy, crunchy skin and delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomAgainAt40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcell, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
As delicious as this recipe sounded, it just didn't work for me. Like many reviewers, I halved the butter, as a whole cup would have been too much. The idea was a good one, and certainly placing the butter mixture beneath the skin helped, but all the flavor was on the surface and none on the deeper meat. Overall, another bland bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
great chicken recipe, and a good base to use!! I made this figure friendly by using olive oil instead of butter (spreads just as well). Also, in addition to the lemon and garlic in the cavity, I added a quarter of an onion, and cut 4 thick slices of a sweet onion to use under the chicken as a natural "roasting rack". I baked this chicken uncovered at 375 degrees for exactly 1 hour 15 min, then removed and tented with foil for an additional 15 minutes before carving (my bird was approx 2.5 lbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Travis Jamie Lopez Whitaker
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
THIS WAS AWESOME!!!! My hubby is not a big fan of chicken especially baked but he loved this recipe. I also added more of my favorite seasonings such as thyme, lemon peper, a little seasoned salt, and some oregano. I took a baby medicine droper (new of course) and sucked up the pan drippings and injected the chicken with them under the skin and in the cavity about every 20 minutes.The chicken was very tender and juicy!!! I will defiantly do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Fantastic!!! I also brined the chicken before cooking it, and got rave reviews from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Aurora, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was good, and the flavors made me think of fancy foods you find in an expensive bistro. It lacked something, though, which is why I gave it only 4 stars. I guess my mouth was expecting a little more pizazz or excitement. Wasn't exactly "robust" in my opinion, but that's just me, and Ms. Goldberg deserves a lot of credit for this great recipe. I may try this again, and actually add some lemon juice to the buttery mixture. I admit, I used this on skinless chicken breasts, which could very well account for the lack of zip in the flavor, but I'm not very sure about that. I cut slits into the breasts and stuffed them with the butter/rosemary/lemon mixture, sprinkled a bit of paprika, covered and baked, then basted with the mixture and baked a short while longer. Eager to try it with a full skin-covered chicken, and with lemon juice added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArbitraryCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Not as flavorful as I'd hoped. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
GREAT, DELICIOUS, SIMPLE RECIPE!!! Because of the extra butter (about 1/4 cup) I baked the chicken surrounded with potatoes topped with the excess butter mixture. Also, I covered the chicken for 20min to allow the potatoes to cook, then broiled the chicken for an additional 15min on low. This is why I love the simple recipe, it allows for modification to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I used 5 whole chicken legs and followed the recipe as written. Children and adults both enjoyed this. For the children I very lightly coated with BBQ sauce, to cover the strong herb taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States