Robin's Sweet and Spicy Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This was incredible! I served it with Carribean Chicken. Definitely worth it and I liked being able to get the beans ready and then just let them simmer while I made the chicken. Makes for a hassle-free dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I made this for the 1st time when I had some neighbors over. My family and theirs could not stop raving over it!It is different, healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Very tasty. Spicy but not too much. We served this over a chicken burrito made with cream cheese and the flavors complimented each other nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I made this for a barbeque and got raves from my friends. They still request that I make these again! Next time I will try brown sugar instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
A different and delicious way to serve black beans! I usually simmer for an hour covered, then remove the lid and simmer for an additional 10-15 minutes to allow the mixture to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spidermonkey555
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
We make this dish a couple of times per month. Very simple and very flavorful. Ingredients are always on hand. Sometimes we serves over a cooked bag of Success Brown Rice though it's fine alone too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spidermonkey555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Holy WOW! These are amazing! I left out the sugar, I've started following the "Eat to Live" diet/lifestyle, and they were plenty "sweet"! I used "Italian" style canned tomatoes and I think that's what made the recipe. I added a 4 oz. can of chopped green chiles since they had not been in the tomatoes like the recipe calls for. My freinds who have tried RAVED! It's great over rice...but it's also fabulous alone as a thick stew. Try it...you'll LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIABETICCUPCAKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I loved this recipe. I used a can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes and threw it a 4-oz. can of mild diced green chilis because that's what I on hand. I also skipped the cilantro because I don't like cilantro. The only change I'd make is to use a 1/2 t. of cayenne pepper next time because it was just a tad too hot for my taste. But the dish has a wonderful flavor. 1 serving over 1/2 cup brown rice, with a green salad on the side, was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This dish was great, my husband loved it too! I did make some adjustments to the recipe: 1) I didn't have diced tomatoes with chilies, so I sauteed a jalapeno and 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes with the onion and used plain diced tomatoes, 2) Substituted white kidney beans for the black beans (didn't have them on hand), and 3) like other reviewers, I reduced the amount of sugar to 1-2 Tb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I took this to a BBQ and it got raves. A good amount of heat without being to much. Tone down the cayenne, if you don't like it spicy. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States