Robin's Sweet and Spicy Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Holy WOW! These are amazing! I left out the sugar, I've started following the "Eat to Live" diet/lifestyle, and they were plenty "sweet"! I used "Italian" style canned tomatoes and I think that's what made the recipe. I added a 4 oz. can of chopped green chiles since they had not been in the tomatoes like the recipe calls for. My freinds who have tried RAVED! It's great over rice...but it's also fabulous alone as a thick stew. Try it...you'll LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIABETICCUPCAKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I liked the concept of the sweet/spicy flavors, but this was just much too spicy for me, and I even cut back on the cayenne pepper. My husband liked it better, though it did make him break out into a sweat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I made this for the 1st time when I had some neighbors over. My family and theirs could not stop raving over it!It is different, healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spidermonkey555
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
We make this dish a couple of times per month. Very simple and very flavorful. Ingredients are always on hand. Sometimes we serves over a cooked bag of Success Brown Rice though it's fine alone too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spidermonkey555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This was incredible! I served it with Carribean Chicken. Definitely worth it and I liked being able to get the beans ready and then just let them simmer while I made the chicken. Makes for a hassle-free dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I liked this, but I didn't think it was fantastic. The sweet flavor was interesting...I don't think I've had the sweet/spicy combo before, so maybe it just wasn't what I was expecting it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
The flavour wasn't really as striking and different as I had hoped, but they were pretty good in burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Very good and different. I fried a jalapeno with the onion and garlic and added extra water so I could throw in some instant rice. At first bite the sweet taste seemed odd, but it really grows on you and you go back for more. I will be making again! Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
A different and delicious way to serve black beans! I usually simmer for an hour covered, then remove the lid and simmer for an additional 10-15 minutes to allow the mixture to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I made this for a barbeque and got raves from my friends. They still request that I make these again! Next time I will try brown sugar instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States