Robin's Sweet and Spicy Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I would have rated this recipe a "5" for everything except the amount of sweet and spicy... I would never add as much sugar and as much cayenne to this as called for. Simmering uncovered for about half the time was enough to evaporate the liquid and leave a nice thick sauce around the beans. This was delicious served with rice cooked in chicken broth. My favorite black beans and rice recipe...use Rotel tomatoes with cilantro and lime juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I followed the directions exactly and these just were not for us. The sugar was all we tasted. I probably would not try these again even with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I took this to a BBQ and it got raves. A good amount of heat without being to much. Tone down the cayenne, if you don't like it spicy. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I have to say that I will NEVER cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooklynrottweiler

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This dish was great, my husband loved it too! I did make some adjustments to the recipe: 1) I didn't have diced tomatoes with chilies, so I sauteed a jalapeno and 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes with the onion and used plain diced tomatoes, 2) Substituted white kidney beans for the black beans (didn't have them on hand), and 3) like other reviewers, I reduced the amount of sugar to 1-2 Tb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was really good. Followed the recipe exactly. Quick and easy too. I ate it with some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westernville, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
i thought this was so unusual and really good. i gave the recipe 4 stars because i thought 3T sugar would be over-the-top sweet, and i think i was right. i cut the sugar back to 2T which was really good, but i acually think 1T would be the perfect amt. i only used abt. half the onion called for b/c that's all i had, but that worked just fine. i was worried that the beans would get mushy after cooking for so long, but they held up just fine. the title sums up exactly what this dish tastes like, so if sweet and spicy is not your bag, you best move on ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
If I had left out the cayenne and the 3 T. of sugar, this might have been a good side dish. As written, however, and even though I cut WAY back on the cayenne, this was a strange combination of sugary sweet and fiery hot that just didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Apart from adding more cilantro and cayenne, I pretty much made this as written. It turned out great - hearty, flavorful and healthy. I served it over plain white rice, but it would be great in flour tortillas. Nice recipe. Thanks, Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I loved this recipe. I used a can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes and threw it a 4-oz. can of mild diced green chilis because that's what I on hand. I also skipped the cilantro because I don't like cilantro. The only change I'd make is to use a 1/2 t. of cayenne pepper next time because it was just a tad too hot for my taste. But the dish has a wonderful flavor. 1 serving over 1/2 cup brown rice, with a green salad on the side, was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States