Robin's Quinoa with Mushrooms and Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I loved this! I changed it a bit - used more mushrooms and less spinach, also added a tablespoon of spicy brown mustard to the mushrooms while they simmered. Topped with feta instead of goat cheese for no reason really other than that feta was what I already had on hand. It was really filling as a main dish and I had quite a bit left over even though I ate it on its own. If others are wondering what sort of wine to use, mine was really good with sauvignon blanc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I used swiss chard instead of spinach (personal preference) and a bit of balsamic vinegar instead of wine which was the perfect side for chicken with strawberry salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe but only used 6 oz of spinach, which was plenty. Too much balsamic flavor and I'm not a fan of goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Nice balance of veggies to quinoa, and great balsamic flavor. Really moist dish. I had to remove lids and raise heat, as needed, to get liquid to evaporate on quinoa and mushrooms. 7 oz bag of spinach as adequate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made this tonight as a main dish for dinner! Wow! It was packed with flavor! I cut back on white wine about 1/4 due to suggestions in other reviews and omitted the cheese (I have a dairy allergy). Great recipe! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This recipe made me love quinoa! It's the first time I cook it and it's really amazing. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
what a fabulous recipe, so interesting and tasty- and i can get away with it with my diet! I was a little mystified with the number of mushrooms required but i guess they shrink when you cook them. Mmm fabulous thank you robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
YUM! A great recipe to work from, I didn't add wine or thyme (because I didn't have any). Added a can of pesto flavored tomatoes, chopped up chitpotle sausages, and used frozen chopped spinach. Delicious, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Wine and vinegar was a bad combination mixed with Quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
OK, so I didn't have quite the right ingredients for this recipe. I didn't have fresh mushrooms, so I used a large can of mushrooms and skipped the mushroom step all together an dumped them in with the spinach at the end. My goat cheese would not crumble, so we just treated it like cream cheese and worked it in at the end too. Even with all of my troubles trying to get it right it was great!!! My husband kept saying wow! this is so good. I noticed some said the white wine was overpowering, so maybe not using them in the mushrooms was a good idea. Oh! Didn't have fresh Thyme either, so used a tsp of dry. Hey! It was so good despite the lack of this or that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States