Robin's Nests Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Eventually these came out looking great but I had some trouble with making the eggs. I had to probably another whole cup of confectioners' sugar as they were way too stick for me with just 2 cups. I also had to grease my hands with baking cooking spray to be able to release them into nests. They tasted OK to me - definitely a dry cookie, but with the eggs they tasted decent. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
These were cute and the fondant like eggs really looked the color of a robin's egg. The cookies were easy to make and using a standard cookie scoop, did yield the suggested amount. I just made a 1/2 recipe to test them. The cookies I had to leave in a little longer than suggested and a minute or so before removing I had to repress the centers as they had puffed up some. The cookies kind of tasted like a soft pecan sandy. Where I had trouble with was the eggs. They actually taste good with the cookie because eaten with the cookie it is like added frosting. However, I mixed the dough and it wasn't coming together completely. Then, I ended up adding about 1/4 tsp. of water. That made them too soft and flatten some after shaping. I think, next time I would just keep kneading or even try some jelly beans with a little icing to make them stick to change it up. After finishing the cookie I put them on a tray with plastic wrap in the fridge and they held up nicely. They were fun to make and were a nice and different Easter treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Cookies did not cook after 12 minutes, I did pre-heat, but the again I guess it was ok because they kind of flattened out (I did make little teaspoon sized balls & just depressed them with my thumb) so after 12 minutes I could make another indentation because they were still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Pretty darn cute and yummy too. I followed the recipe, for the most part, but I did substitute pecans for walnuts. I also mixed a few of the chopped pecans into the dough. I baked on parchment. I will probably make these again next Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Just like my Mom made in the '70s and 80s. We love them still!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
These are great! The egg wash helps secure the walnuts. Almond in the fondant is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
ours turn out weird looking well the nest was alright but the eggs never formed shape :( we felt it needed more steps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These aren't that wonderful on their own but if you put a dallup of whipped cream on them they are much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
i used imitation coconut instead of almond extract & it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I have made these cookies for several years but use a butter cream frosting instead of the fondant eggs & we love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States