Robin's Nests Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tstandr
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I love this recipe. The cookies turn out so cute! I'll post a picture of the batch I made. I greased the cookie sheet, but there's a lot of butter in the dough so it may not be necessary. The recipe says to make the dough balls 1 teaspoon size, but I recommend at least a tablespoon of dough per nest. The dough and fondant were easy to work with so I suppose you could make the nests and eggs any size you like. They taste like a shortbread cookie rolled in walnuts, and the almond flavored fondant eggs are a perfect flavor match. I made three tiny eggs per nest, by rolling little pieces of fondant in a ball. I'll definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Wow! Every cookie platter should have at least one beautiful, colorful cookie, and this is it! The "nest" is a wonderful, buttery, crunchy shortbread-type cookie, not overly sweet. The eggs are the perfect counterpart; sweet little almond flavored morsels that melt in your mouth. I made the mistake of flattening my nests too much, because I wanted to have enough room for 3 eggs in each nest. They flattened and spread a little more while baking, so it would have been better to just make a ball, with a thumbprint-sized depression, like the recipe says. The eggs are easy to make, kind of like playing with clay, but do take time. Because they are sweet, it is better to make them small, and they will fit into the nests better that way, too. I baked the cookies first, then made the eggs while watching tv. Very easy, and fun, too. These will definitely be a staple on my Christmas, Easter, etc. cookie platters. It is not always easy to find something that both looks pretty and tastes good, but these fit the bill. Thank you, so much, for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These cookies are amazing!!! I loved them and my coworkers couldn't get enough of them!! Caution: The fondant gets stiff, it bent my mixmaster beater (the wiry kind).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These cookies are precious! The dough has a very mild flavor, and the eggs make them a showstopper. Next time I might experiment and add butter flavor instead (to the dough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
My daughter's class said the cookies were not tasty. They did like the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I fell in love with how these cookies looked, but wasn't sure I was really going to like the taste. I made a batch and they taste as AWESOME as they look. I had to add extra powdered sugar to the fondant eggs because they were too sticky, but it didn't effect the taste. I love these so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elt
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I made these for Easter. They turned out super cute and are fairly good as far as taste. The only substitution I made was pecans vs walnuts. The cookie is a pecan sandy type texture. The fondant eggs are actually very good - they taste like frosting - and add sweetness and temper the dryness of the cookie. I had been very tempted to use jelly beans or other egg shaped candies for the eggs and I'm very glad I didn't! The fondant eggs were easy to make and were a perfect compliment to the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Amazing cookies!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I have made these cookies for several years but use a butter cream frosting instead of the fondant eggs & we love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
i used imitation coconut instead of almond extract & it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States