Robin's Cheesy Chipotle Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I made this last night to go with a rotisserie chicken and mesquite chicken wings from Costco. The grits were amazing! The smokey flavor of the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce adds a nice "kick" to it. You can adjust the spice level of the dish by increasing or decreasing the amount of peppers. You should be able to find the peppers (canned) in the Mexican aisle of your supermarket. These grits were wonderful, easy to make, and I'm having them with my lunch again today. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Delicious! The only grits I've ever had before were from a breakfast place and they tasted like flavorless goo. :) Needless to say, I've never been to thrilled with them. I finally decided to find a recipe, and see what kind of flavor grits can have. I'm so glad to have found this recipe! I followed the reviewer recommendations of cutting back on the salt (I used 1 tsp instead of 2) and I used 1 tsp of cumin instead of 1tbsp. I also used 2 chipotle peppers instead of 4 and 'mild' green chilies. So good, so creamy, so cheesy! I think you could easily omit the baking step. They were just as tasty right out of the pot. A perfect blend of flavors. I served these with smoked pulled pork and corn from my garden. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
great if you cut the salt in half! also, next time i'll eliminate the last step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
quite spicy, but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Good grits. The cumin was a bit overpowering though. I will make these again but use less cumin and maybe add a little salsa or chopped tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe very much. It may have been a touch spicy and a bit too salty so next time I make this I will decrease the chipotles to 3 and the salt to 1 tsp. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
It's so tasty! I like this new take on grits. Really liked the heat. I did take down on the chipotle, cheddar, and took out the chilies altogether. And I didn't bake the grits. It is truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Really tasty grits, just cut back on the salt and cumin (I cut both down to about 1/2 the stated amount) and adjust the amount of chipotle to your liking; I love spice so I used the entire amount called for. Not sure its necessary to have the green chilies when there's already so much going on, next time I'll leave them for another dish. Thanks for sharing, this is a great way to enjoy grits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States