Robin's Best Ever Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This hummus is exceptionally good - better than any of the prepackaged brands. I did make some changes according to previous reviews - I cut the salt in half and added a little cumin and a little red pepper flakes. Next time I will cut the honey in 1/2. It was a little sweet for me (hence the 4 stars instead of 5) but I wouldn't take it out entirely, it definitely blends well with the other flavors. I also added an extra clove of garlic and didn't use any oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Era, Michigan, USA
Living In: Boyne City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
i did not read the reviews before i made this, so it turned out REALLY salty. i added in more of the other ingredients to balance it out, and it was pretty good. also, there is a discrepancy between the ingredients and the directions. the ingredients include tahini, but the directions never say to add it. this could be where all the extra salt is comming from...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I really liked this recipe, it was very easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I liked this recipe - it was super easy and tastes great. I added a little cumin, sesame seeds, pepper, rosemary, olive oil and sesame oil(next time I'll just put in 1/8 tsp)right to the mixture. I also left out the garlic and the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This recipe worked well but I completely left out the salt, I would taste it before I added any at all as the tahini is salty. I left out the rosemary but added in some chopped artichokes and black olives, a little seasoneed salt and olive oil over the top, add an olive in the middle and it looks (and tastes) like something you ordered in a restaurant. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surf and Turf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
If you like the taste of honey, this is for you, because that's all you'l taste. This sat on my appetizer table untouched after the first taste. I had one compliment, but I figured out she was just trying to be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was great hummus but I did have to add a lot more seasonings to make mine not so bland. Chili pepper works great in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDishner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This is GREAT hummus! So very easy... took me less than 10 minutes to make. I added a little turmeric and cumin for more flavor. Will definitely make againa and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I must say that this is the best hummus recipe I have found. I like to use roasted garlic instead of regular garlic. This recipe also provides a great base for adding all sorts of different ingredients. I sometimes add roasted red peppers or whatever is fresh out of my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jshuston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mayo, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I added more honey and no salt. I thought it would of been really good with only one clove of garlic. I love garlic but 3 cloves was to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States