Robin's Best Ever Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Lovely, easy recipe. I rinsed the chickpeas, didn't have enough tahini, so milled sesame seeds (1 cup), used less salt, and only one teaspoon of maple syrup, also added lemon zest. It was lovely. I used Olive Oil in the mix too and homemade vegetable concentrated stock. I think the little sweetness takes away the sometimes sharp taste of uncooked garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I thought this humus was okay. The garlic was strong - even though I reduced the quantity the recipe listed. I may have simply had a particularly strong head of garlic. It does vary. I also agree with a previous review that the honey made it too sweet. I had to add a good bit more lemon juice to try to cut the sweetness. If you want to add the honey, I would suggest you reduce it by 1/3, taste and add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This is our favorite traditional hummus recipe so far. We are making it over and over again to have as a snack at work or at home. If you are skipping the Tahini paste you really need to take some time to go and find it. I get mine at Cost Plus World Market. Buy and extra jar while you are there so you have a spare in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I've read that hummas may be the the most perfect food. After making and consuming this recipe, I agree. It is a wonderful and quick recipe using ingredients I had in the pantry. I'll make this again, for sure. I'll likely cut down on the salt (as per other reviewers) and maybe a bit on the lemon juice. Thanks, Robin, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
OMG! So good I was transported back to Jerusalem in 1979 eating this on a restaurant patio. Based on the recommendations I cut the salt in half and I'm glad I did; it was perfect. Thank you, thank you, for this recipe! We've already made it 3 times and have received rave reviews. If you've tried "store-bought" hummus and thought it was yucky, yes, it was! Try this recipe; it's easy and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This was absolutely fantastic! The best I have ever had! I doubled the recipe, added a little more garlic and 1/2 cup of pre-made pesto to the mix. Wow! I also topped it off with Pine nuts and a spoonful of the Pesto for decoration and flair! Great and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
WAY too salty. And I LOVE SALT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Good recipe, but beware the salt. I did a half tsp and this was perfect for me. Also, I had no honey and so skippe d this, and this was fine. Also I used sesame oil instead of the tahini. Not having pita bread we had the humus with corn tortillas toasted lightly on the stovetop (I am living in Mexico). I said to my Mexican wife: This is exactly how it should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I would not add honey. It is too sweet and clashes with the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Too sweet for my liking...I would most likely make this recipe again without the honey and roasted the garlic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arretederaler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States