Robey's Blue Crab Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Try adding the following ingredients to this recipe and you will have a 'keeper': increase mayo to 3/4 cup (use light mayo, of course), 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice, 1 1/2 tsps dijon mustard (instead of powder), 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/8 tsp salt, 1/8 tsp red pepper (cayenne). Mix with yolks and crab and stuff eggs. Top eggs with a sprinkling of Old Bay or smoked paprika and snipped fresh chives, if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This is great on a low-carb diet! I added fresh ground pepper to the mix as well. I like my deviled eggs a bit more moist and tangy, I would also add just a bit more mayo. I had 3 halves for breakfast with a cup of coffee. The extra filling is wonderful stuffed in celery sticks for a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
Very good. Also goes well with a can of shrimp instead of the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
If you like crab, and you like deviled egges you will love this recipe. I made this for cook-out and now I have to have these when ever there is an event. Great food. (Had to double the recipe so that some would make it to the party)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKB20

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
A nice change from the usual, but I thought they were missing a little something. I think I’ll try again and experiment by adding a few more ingredients. (Definitely a little more mayo for a creamier consistency.) Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJKreut
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
The texture of the egg filling was not as creamy as my traditional recipe. Next time I may add another tablespoon of mayonaise and a little more Old Bay seasoning. A nice change of pace from traditional deviled eggs, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Luckily, I followed the advice of some of the reviewers and doctored up the recipe. I mixed all the ingredients and crab first, including adding more mayo, dijon mustard instead of the powder, cayenne, nixed the paprika, added a little onion powder, and loaded it with Old Bay. Kept tasting and messing with it until my base tasted like a crab cake mixture. Then I added about 3/4 of the yellows to that mixture and doctored some more until I liked the taste. I just think this is one of those recipes you have to play with and keep sampling until you get it where you want it. But the end result turned out fabulous and my guests LOVED them. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made this yesterday to take to a party. I love the concept, but it just wasn't a good combination. I added extra crab, extra cayenne, extra paprika, but it just didn't fly. A few got eaten, but just a little embarrassing to take something to a get together that people eat only to be polite. Thankfully I took shrimp tray! Now that went with enthusiasm!!! Taking this one out of my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Followed the recipe they were good but did not go fast as i expected. It seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Filling was a bit dry, so I added an additional 1 to 2 tablespoons of mayo to make it creamier. Also added a tad more Old Bay. These were good, but I prefer traditional deviled eggs. My husband commented, "They are different, but not a keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab-Stuffed Deviled Eggs

Simple deviled eggs are stuffed with crab then topped with even more crab.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States