Robey's Blue Crab Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Thanks for the great idea. I used sour cream instead of mayonaisse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I loved this idea. I used fresh picked crab mean instead of the store bought. I steamed the crabs with water and vinegar and seasoned them with old bay. The Old Bay just gave it something special and really set these over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Were from Baltimore and love crabs in everything, except deviled eggs I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Luckily, I followed the advice of some of the reviewers and doctored up the recipe. I mixed all the ingredients and crab first, including adding more mayo, dijon mustard instead of the powder, cayenne, nixed the paprika, added a little onion powder, and loaded it with Old Bay. Kept tasting and messing with it until my base tasted like a crab cake mixture. Then I added about 3/4 of the yellows to that mixture and doctored some more until I liked the taste. I just think this is one of those recipes you have to play with and keep sampling until you get it where you want it. But the end result turned out fabulous and my guests LOVED them. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this as is and it was missing something. I agree w/ other reviewers about that. I also tried this recipe w/ these modifications (given by a friend): added dijon mustard, instead of mustard owder; added lemon juice, and added diced red bell pepper. Topped it off w/ parsley. This was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made this yesterday to take to a party. I love the concept, but it just wasn't a good combination. I added extra crab, extra cayenne, extra paprika, but it just didn't fly. A few got eaten, but just a little embarrassing to take something to a get together that people eat only to be polite. Thankfully I took shrimp tray! Now that went with enthusiasm!!! Taking this one out of my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
So crabby and I love crab. NOT a good combinsation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Try adding the following ingredients to this recipe and you will have a 'keeper': increase mayo to 3/4 cup (use light mayo, of course), 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice, 1 1/2 tsps dijon mustard (instead of powder), 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/8 tsp salt, 1/8 tsp red pepper (cayenne). Mix with yolks and crab and stuff eggs. Top eggs with a sprinkling of Old Bay or smoked paprika and snipped fresh chives, if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Followed the recipe they were good but did not go fast as i expected. It seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These Deviled Eggs were great! I couldn't find Old Bay Seasoning, so I left it out. They were a hit. A great dish for left over boiled eggs at Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab-Stuffed Deviled Eggs

Simple deviled eggs are stuffed with crab then topped with even more crab.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States