Robert's Homemade Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Just used this tonight to season up my pasta sauce and it turned out great. I halved the recipe and didn't have any pork on hand and it still came out great. I also didn't have any mace or nutmeg to replace it so I used a pinch (literally) of cloves and it was enough to enhance the flavor without overpowering. Didn't even use casings to make sausage, but mixed it all together in a bowl. Highly recommend, esp if you have ground turkey and don't know what to do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
VERY YUMMY! I probably shouldn't rate this because I made so many changes that it isn't exactly the same recipe (I used all pork, omitted the wine and sugar, and substituted fresh garlic for the garlic powder); however, I was mostly interested in the combination of spices. I loved it! REVIEW UPDATE: I love this combination of spices so much that I now have a large jar of it in my cupboard and I use it for flavoring ground meats (beef, veal, and pork) for different things: meat patties; stuffed peppers; cabbage rolls; and meat balls. I also plan to give jars of it as gifts for Christmas. Robert - Thank you so much for this lovely recipe. I no longer have to go to a gourmet butcher shop to get excellent Italian sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This can be made with 2 lbs ground chicken. Very spicy and flavorful, perfect for dry, bland chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheCookGood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Premo, great taste and less money spent on store bought italian sausage @$6.87 Lb. Any many different styles of it here on www.AllRecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwompa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Loved it. I omit the fennel and anise because I don't care for them. I like this much better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipie, I recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Castillo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Arizona, USA
Living In: Eloy, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is good sausage but I think the measurements are off. I doubled this recipe for 6 pounds of meat and came up extremely short in salt. I also noticed the minced onion amount seemed a bit light. I wonder if onion salt would cure both issues I had. I used a sweet red wine and eliminated the sugar because that's what I had and it seems to work with it. Certainly deserves another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Love! I make it ground for pizza. I don't use mace, fennel, and it still tastes great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Did not add the sugar but all tasted ok will cook again enjoyed by all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
We loved this sausage. Hubby tried it by itself and with a pasta sauce on homemade bread. He said he would give it a "bunch of stars". Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States