Robert's Homemade Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed this recipe. I use Italian sausage in my spaghetti and lasagna but now I will never buy the prepared sausage again. My family and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was my first time making sausage. I halved this recipe using lean ground pork (4% fat) and it was sooo tasty - much, much better than anything store bought. I crushed the spices in a mortar and pestle together and squeezed excess moisture from the ground meat before incorporating everything together. I never made mine into patties, instead I made pizza and stuffed bell peppers with it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
We loved this sausage. Hubby tried it by itself and with a pasta sauce on homemade bread. He said he would give it a "bunch of stars". Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
"Robert's Homemade Italian Sausage" is excellent! I have made this recipe at least a dozen times now. I love this combination of spices so much that I now have a large jar of it in my cupboard that I use it for flavoring ground meats (beef, veal, and pork) for different things: meat patties; stuffed peppers; cabbage rolls; and meat balls. I also plan to give jars of it as gifts for Christmas. Thank Robert for sharing your recipe. I no longer have to go to a gourmet butcher shop to get excellent Italian sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Did not add the sugar but all tasted ok will cook again enjoyed by all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Love! I make it ground for pizza. I don't use mace, fennel, and it still tastes great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Love this recipe! We make it often and freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2C00k

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Just used this tonight to season up my pasta sauce and it turned out great. I halved the recipe and didn't have any pork on hand and it still came out great. I also didn't have any mace or nutmeg to replace it so I used a pinch (literally) of cloves and it was enough to enhance the flavor without overpowering. Didn't even use casings to make sausage, but mixed it all together in a bowl. Highly recommend, esp if you have ground turkey and don't know what to do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
These sausages are excellent. The only thing I didn't have is anise seed but I prefer fennel in sausage. I did increase the salt to 1/2 tsp. and I only used 1/4 tsp. cayenne but next time I think I'll use 1/2 tsp. cayenne as it wasn't too spicy. Thanks Robert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Loved it. I omit the fennel and anise because I don't care for them. I like this much better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States