Robert E. Lee's Orange Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
Very nice change from lemon. It is alittle time consuming to make but not to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I make this recipe for every holiday and love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
This is a great pie. I even baked it with the merangue at l0,000 feet and it turned out!! Used a graham cracker crust which turned out well. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raffyroo
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I enjoyed my pie but I did double the orange and meringue I used 6 yolks, 3/4 cup sugar, 4 tbs flour, 2 tbs butter, 2 tbs zest, 2 cup orange juice for the orange pudding. The meringue was made of 6 egg whites and 8 tbs sugar. I kept the cooking time the same but plan on covering the edges of the crust with tin foil for 25 minutes, then remove and let the pie bake for 10 more minutes. Make sure when you put the meringue on it touches the crust edges or it will shrink. The meringue was the perfect amount for me, but I love meringue. I made the french pastry crust recipe from allrecipes and it came out thicker than I wanted but was perfect for this pie. The orange pudding was watery after setting but the thicker crust soaked it right up. I plan on baking the pie a little longer next time but the crust edges were too brown to try this time. I used honeybell oranges which are in season right now. The tart and sweet orange made the flavor perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
DELIGHTFUL! I just bought a box of oranges and my daughter (10) suggested an Orange Meringue Pie - I am so glad it existed and was so delicious! I was faithful to the recipe and it turned out perfectly! Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
lee's orange pie recipe was quite awsome and all i did was add just a little tiny bit more zest because i love oranges. this a recipe that i will use agian in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This recipe is very easy and very good. I don't usually like meringue pies, but this one is unique and delicious. Oranges are abundant this time of year, so I was looking for something using fresh orange. This fit the bill. There is no wonder this pie recipe has been around so long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Surprisingly good! I thought it would be overly sweet, but the filling is medium sweet/tart. There is more meringue than filling in the finished cross-section, but it doesn't seem to affect the blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This was really good and a very nice change of pace. I did double the filling but my pie pan is a little on the big side and a double batch was perfect. We also don't care for meringue so I left that off and covered the top in cool whip. We all really enjoyed this. A tip, don't use orange juice with pulp in it. The pulp rises to the top and leaves a weird looking layer on the top of the pie it doesn't detract from the taste by any means just looks strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Great pie. Just the way Robert senior used to make it. Really brings me back to my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States