Robert E. Lee's Orange Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
This is a great pie. I even baked it with the merangue at l0,000 feet and it turned out!! Used a graham cracker crust which turned out well. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
Very nice change from lemon. It is alittle time consuming to make but not to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This recipe is very easy and very good. I don't usually like meringue pies, but this one is unique and delicious. Oranges are abundant this time of year, so I was looking for something using fresh orange. This fit the bill. There is no wonder this pie recipe has been around so long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This was good but the meringue really overwhelmed the orange custard. I think next time I would double the amount of orange custard so it is a thicker pie. The filling was kind of thin and the meringue was more than twice as thick. It didn't have the orange flavor I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Good pie, but I encountered troubles with the meringue, which shrunk more than I expected it to. Next time, I'll bit egg whites a little less and I'll care for properly sealing it to the crust. Otherwise, taste was the kind I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
I jut did not care for the taste. it reminded me a lot of chess pie. the orange flavor was just waaaaay to sweet. I am just used to having a citrus pie with a "tangy" flavor . there was nothing like this here just sweetness. will not be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
lee's orange pie recipe was quite awsome and all i did was add just a little tiny bit more zest because i love oranges. this a recipe that i will use agian in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I'm not the biggest fan of meringue so instead of using it, I placed the orange segments decoratively over the orange custard, sprinkled some suger over the top and caramalised it. A great recipe for those who have a sweet tooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This pie was pretty good, but the layer of orange filling was too thin. If I make it again, I will probably double the filling ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I followed this recipe, it worked like a charm. It's delicious, everything came out beautiful and the proper consistency. The flavor was so fresh. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States