Robert E. Lee's Orange Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ceebee
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Will def make it again! Perfect recipe . I didn't have the pie crust so I used a packet of coconut biscuits and 100g melted margarine. I also added about a tsp of grated orange peel to the meringue mixture for added flavour! Thoroughly enjoying it !! Botswana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Francistown, North-East, Botswana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I made the meringue with a few tablespoons of cocoa and a touch of instant coffee - the combo was excellent and very addictive! The custard seemed insufficient but left space for merengue at the end. Of note, it took way more than 35 min for the custard to set... I was almost an hour and had to tent it to protect the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Great pie. Just the way Robert senior used to make it. Really brings me back to my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This was really good and a very nice change of pace. I did double the filling but my pie pan is a little on the big side and a double batch was perfect. We also don't care for meringue so I left that off and covered the top in cool whip. We all really enjoyed this. A tip, don't use orange juice with pulp in it. The pulp rises to the top and leaves a weird looking layer on the top of the pie it doesn't detract from the taste by any means just looks strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
DELIGHTFUL! I just bought a box of oranges and my daughter (10) suggested an Orange Meringue Pie - I am so glad it existed and was so delicious! I was faithful to the recipe and it turned out perfectly! Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Copland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I make this recipe for every holiday and love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Surprisingly good! I thought it would be overly sweet, but the filling is medium sweet/tart. There is more meringue than filling in the finished cross-section, but it doesn't seem to affect the blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raffyroo
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I enjoyed my pie but I did double the orange and meringue I used 6 yolks, 3/4 cup sugar, 4 tbs flour, 2 tbs butter, 2 tbs zest, 2 cup orange juice for the orange pudding. The meringue was made of 6 egg whites and 8 tbs sugar. I kept the cooking time the same but plan on covering the edges of the crust with tin foil for 25 minutes, then remove and let the pie bake for 10 more minutes. Make sure when you put the meringue on it touches the crust edges or it will shrink. The meringue was the perfect amount for me, but I love meringue. I made the french pastry crust recipe from allrecipes and it came out thicker than I wanted but was perfect for this pie. The orange pudding was watery after setting but the thicker crust soaked it right up. I plan on baking the pie a little longer next time but the crust edges were too brown to try this time. I used honeybell oranges which are in season right now. The tart and sweet orange made the flavor perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
this was a good pie. everyone comented on it. i do have to agree with other people that the filling recipe needs to be doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I am not sure what I did to goof this up but the orange middle came out liquidy. This would have been so good if not for that. Still we ate up the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States