Robert E. Lee's Orange Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This was good but the meringue really overwhelmed the orange custard. I think next time I would double the amount of orange custard so it is a thicker pie. The filling was kind of thin and the meringue was more than twice as thick. It didn't have the orange flavor I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I'm not the biggest fan of meringue so instead of using it, I placed the orange segments decoratively over the orange custard, sprinkled some suger over the top and caramalised it. A great recipe for those who have a sweet tooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
this was a good pie. everyone comented on it. i do have to agree with other people that the filling recipe needs to be doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
This is a great pie. I even baked it with the merangue at l0,000 feet and it turned out!! Used a graham cracker crust which turned out well. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raffyroo
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I enjoyed my pie but I did double the orange and meringue I used 6 yolks, 3/4 cup sugar, 4 tbs flour, 2 tbs butter, 2 tbs zest, 2 cup orange juice for the orange pudding. The meringue was made of 6 egg whites and 8 tbs sugar. I kept the cooking time the same but plan on covering the edges of the crust with tin foil for 25 minutes, then remove and let the pie bake for 10 more minutes. Make sure when you put the meringue on it touches the crust edges or it will shrink. The meringue was the perfect amount for me, but I love meringue. I made the french pastry crust recipe from allrecipes and it came out thicker than I wanted but was perfect for this pie. The orange pudding was watery after setting but the thicker crust soaked it right up. I plan on baking the pie a little longer next time but the crust edges were too brown to try this time. I used honeybell oranges which are in season right now. The tart and sweet orange made the flavor perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This pie was pretty good, but the layer of orange filling was too thin. If I make it again, I will probably double the filling ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
I jut did not care for the taste. it reminded me a lot of chess pie. the orange flavor was just waaaaay to sweet. I am just used to having a citrus pie with a "tangy" flavor . there was nothing like this here just sweetness. will not be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This recipe is very easy and very good. I don't usually like meringue pies, but this one is unique and delicious. Oranges are abundant this time of year, so I was looking for something using fresh orange. This fit the bill. There is no wonder this pie recipe has been around so long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I am not sure what I did to goof this up but the orange middle came out liquidy. This would have been so good if not for that. Still we ate up the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I followed this recipe, it worked like a charm. It's delicious, everything came out beautiful and the proper consistency. The flavor was so fresh. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States