Roasted Winter Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
If you like rutabagus you will enjoy this soup. Good with or without vinegar. Didn't use truffle oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Silky and roasty goodness. The store I went to didn't have rutabagas so I substituted celery root (celeriac). I just thought that flavor would work well. It did! If your knife isn't the sharpest and you have trouble cutting through hard-skinned squash just microwave it for a couple minutes. That softens it enough to cut easily, and we are pureeing it anyway. This soup feels like you are eating something with cream, but there is no cream here at all. The fresh rosemary really makes it, dried just wouldn't be the same here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Great way to use winter vegetables. I halved the recipe and added a whole yellow onion and a few carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving 2 years ago for something a little different than your typical T-Day sides and everyone loved it! Every year, I get phone calls from half the family making sure that I'm making it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Cooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
After making this, I was disappointed. It was a bit less thick and more bitter/ less balanced than I had anticipated. I went back to the store and picked up a medium sweet potato and 1 lb of carrots, roasted those and pureed them into the soup. Add a star! Much more to my liking, more balanced flavors, thicker. I will make it again, but with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Yummy. This was really great. I found however that there the quantity of vegetables indicatged in the recipe was in excess of what I needed. Perhaps our Canadian parsnips and rutabagas are bigger than the ones you guys have in the US, however, I ended up cutting back on the veggies, and still making a huge pot of soup. I left some of the veggies in pieces, rather than puree all of them, to add a bit of texture to the soup...but I loved it, my kids loved it too. Great one..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esiuolm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was absolutely awful. It had both a sour and sweet taste, which can be an interesting combination, but in this case it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This soup has very little flavor outside of that of the vegetables. I added cumin on the first batch and curry on the second batch, and it helped a bit. I ended up giving the rest of the soup to my dog. For the effort that this soup took, the soup is not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Truly incredible. My vegetable-wary fiance had 3 helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States