Roasted Winter Squash Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
At 275 degrees for 15 minutes the seeds were still dense and were not crispy. I did use the same amount of olive oil and some seasoning salt and the mixture was tasty. I ended up using my oven at 350 degrees for closer to 25 minutes and they crisped up just fine. I will have to do another batch to get the exact timing. I wanted to note that squash seeds are very healthy for women and help contribute to a hormone we have called DHEA. DHEA is a hormone that helps us with our energy levels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Excellent! Tastes like popcorn to me! Thanks for the recipe....I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I used butternut squash seeds and used seasoning salt (actually A & W seasoning salt) and it was fantastic. Mine needed a little bit more time than suggested but the result was excellent. Will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellow_everest

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrimalRach35

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
No need to add oil to roast any seeds. I wash them and pick out as much pulp as I have the patience for. Then sprinkle with salt while they're wet. Roast in a 350 degree oven until brown, stirring every 5 or 10 minutes until all seeds are very brown and crispy. Takes about 30 minutes. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This simple recipe took little time or effort, but I let my seeds roast about 18 min. I used an olive oil cooking spray right on the pan and seeds. A little salt and a sprinkle of smoked paprika made a tasty snack! I'll never throw my seeds away again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Awesome! So glad I found this recipe! Now every time I cut open any kind of squash, I roast the seeds in my toaster oven for a special snack. Actually, they're much better than pumpkin seeds because they're smaller and less woody. My husband and 2-year old son love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
The seeds need to be cooked much longer, I tried 300 for 20 minutes and the flavor was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Great! Very easy and satisfying! I have an olive oil spray bottle which let me evenly coat the seats and probably use less than even the 1 tblsp in the recipe. The seeds still came out nice and crispy but I did cook them about 27 minutes. When I finally took them out they weren't quite popping(though I wonder if 5 more minutes would have done it) but there was a subtle crackle going on. Great snack and nice to know I'm using the whole squash!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States