Roasted Winter Squash Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Easy and tasted great! Was going to save some for hubby to try when he gets home, but can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I have tried this 3 times and it is really good, but it really is a lot more work than 25 mins. It took about an hour for me. It is really hard to get all the stuff off of the squash seeds, dry them, and keep them from sticking to the paper towel. I baked mine for 30 mins. because I like them nice and crunchy. I also used pattypan squash seeds and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I did this with butternut squash seeds. Sprinkled a little cayenne on them. Love it! But it took a lot longer than 15 minutes to cook to where they were crunchy instead of chewy - more like 35 minutes. Addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
So easy, so good. I roasted my spaghetti squash seeds for 15 minutes at 350 degrees on a pan below the pan which held the squash halves roasting. The seeds were delicious! I agree with the person who said they're like popcorn. Mmmm. After rinsing in a bowl I patted off the seeds on a kitchen towel, which helped pick up some of the stray squash innards. I will definitely make this again whenever I have fresh squash! (Update: made again with seeds from pie pumpkin, and the seeds bake for 15 min at 350 whether or not I have anything else in the oven.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I used lemon-infused oil and sea salt, and the flavor was fantastic. However, I don't really think this was long enough/hot enough to create crunchy seeds. They're a little too pulpy still for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These taste great, but had to increase the temperature to 375 and cooking time to 30 minutes. First batch came out raw, second batch perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Yummy! I'd add less salt for my personal taste next time. I threw in a pinch of cayenne. That was an even better ideas than I thought it would be. If you like spicy snacks, I'd highly recommend that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I had some organic acorn squash seeds leftover from preparing my 10 month old daughter's baby food. Decided to roast the seeds rather than toss them and they were very good. I bet you could experiment with a variety of seasonings (cinnamon, nutmeg, parmesan cheese, popcorn seasoning, brown sugar or honey) for different tastes; plain with olive oil is perfect to me, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I just made these....while supper was cooking. Love them! I used olive oil since the oven temp was low, but I think next time I'll use my grapeseed oil, since it's a medium to high heat oil that does not turn into the bad stuff like olive oil does when used in medium/high heat.... [my husband ate most of them after supper]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States