Roasted Winter Squash Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
The seeds need to be cooked much longer, I tried 300 for 20 minutes and the flavor was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Great! Very easy and satisfying! I have an olive oil spray bottle which let me evenly coat the seats and probably use less than even the 1 tblsp in the recipe. The seeds still came out nice and crispy but I did cook them about 27 minutes. When I finally took them out they weren't quite popping(though I wonder if 5 more minutes would have done it) but there was a subtle crackle going on. Great snack and nice to know I'm using the whole squash!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Perfect. Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out to be so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My first time making spaghetti squash and thought the seeds looked edible. I looked up a recipe and this one was the first and simplest. Perfect, absolutely delicious! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Like other reviewers said, the cook time isn't enough. I used melted butter and Franks hot sauce with the seeds. It took about 45 minutes to achieve the desired crispness. The key is to taste the seeds every 10 minutes or so until they are just right. Then you know how long to cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
oh this is so much better than pumpkin seeds! Mm,nummy!. Addictive thin shell. I reduce the heat in case I leave the house for a sec. Nuts are easy to scorch. The lowest on can go to dry things slow is 140 in the oven with the oven door open
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
easy and a great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
These were easy and delicious, but it took them a lot longer than 15 minutes to bake/toast. I finally took them out of the oven after 35 minutes when they were somewhat golden brown. And they never did "pop". I'll definitely make them again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
We added a bit of Sonny's Crazy Cajun Miraculous to the mix and they were a hit. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarefootMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I was recently making a butternut squash recipe from this site and started thinking how much I loved pumpkin seeds and how these seeds looked similar. Before even looking at this recipe, I had rinsed and removed them from their pulp (much easier than removal from pumpkin pulp...just kind of squeeze the pulp and they pop out), added some sea salt to them while still wet, then tossed them in the oven at 400 while the squash was cooking. You DO NOT need oil or cooking spray! And you can cook at a higher temp. Just stir in the spices you want while they are still wet, then toss them in a single layer, on tinfoil on a baking sheet. Stir with a fork every 5 or 10 minutes and taste until you find the consistency you like. I personally like just sea salt as you don't lose the nutty taste of the seeds and did 25 minutes at 400. So nutty and tasty!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States